Skip to main content
TrustRadius
PagerDuty

PagerDuty

Overview

What is PagerDuty?

PagerDuty is an IT alert and incident management application from the company of the same name in San Francisco.

Read more
Recent Reviews

PagerDuty Review

9 out of 10
February 05, 2024
Incentivized
We leverage PagerDuty for immediate support at events. This is leveraged to ensure we provide the needed service and timing is critical to …
Continue reading

PagerDuty x Sales

8 out of 10
November 14, 2023
Incentivized
We use PagerDuty as an on call alerting tool to let us know when inbound sales leads or messages come to the company sales/info email. We …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Professional

$25

Cloud
per month per user

Business

$49

Cloud
per month per user

Digital Operations

Contact Sales

Cloud

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.pagerduty.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $25 per month per user
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is PagerDuty?

PagerDuty, Inc. (NYSE:PD) provides digital operations management. Boasting organizations of all sizes as customers, PagerDuty aims to help them deliver a perfect digital experience to their customers, every time. PagerDuty helps identify issues and opportunities in real time, and brings together the right people to fix problems faster, and to prevent them in the future. PagerDuty's ecosystem of over 350+ integrations, including Slack, Zoom, ServiceNow, AWS, Microsoft Teams, Salesforce, and more, allow teams to centralize their technology stack, view the health of their operations, and optimize efficiency within their toolsets. To learn more and try PagerDuty for free, visit www.pagerduty.com.

PagerDuty Screenshots

Screenshot of Similar Incidents [Apple iPad], Open Incidents [iPhone 8], On-Call Schedule Menu [Apple Watch])Screenshot of the Machine Learning with Technical Service Dependencies, used to better understand related incidents.Screenshot of a glimpse of service health and team performance via PagerDuty’s Intelligent Dashboards.

PagerDuty Video

The PagerDuty Platform Overview

PagerDuty Competitors

PagerDuty Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Mobile Web

Frequently Asked Questions

PagerDuty is an IT alert and incident management application from the company of the same name in San Francisco.

PagerDuty starts at $25.

Splunk On-Call, xMatters, and OpsGenie are common alternatives for PagerDuty.

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 9.

The most common users of PagerDuty are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(249)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 140)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
June 17, 2024

PagerDuty

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
At my organization, we take calls for one week each quarter. When patients need provider assistance and their primary care provider is out of the office, we address their concerns. We may need to call the patient to discuss symptoms and/or side effects of medications. We are also called to send in prescriptions for patients when the primary provider is out of the office.
  • Notify me. I get a text, call and email.
  • Communication. It's clear what I am being called for.
  • I like how I can let the staff know when I have acknowledged the call and when I have resolved the problem.
  • When I open PagerDuty the page does look a little cluttered or busy.
  • It would be nice to go to the page with clear and straightforward instructions on what I must address.
  • Ability to change the color background.
  • Add a timer and alarms for tasks that need completed.
I think PagerDuty works great for medical practices. I have used other platforms through other companies, and PagerDuty is by far the best platform. It is because of the different features it has to communicate to other staff members how the call is being handled. It is easy to learn how to use.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use PagerDuty for each of our on-call teams in order to have a single source cloud based solution for alerting on-call personnel. When an incident occurs each member is allowed to be notified in the medium of their choice - be it, text message, email, phone call or in app push notification (or any combination of those). It is also very useful to create post mortem reports for posterity right in the PagerDuty interface.
  • The PagerDuty iOS app is fantastic.
  • The multiple alerting options are great.
  • The ability to assign an incident to another team is seamless.
  • The interface for overriding schedules is very easy to use.
  • PagerDuty could directly integrate better with some of the other providers we use.
PagerDuty is well suited for teams that need to have 24/7 monitoring of multiple web site properties up time.

It is also well suited for geographically distributed teams.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
This supports real-time support which is required as we conduct live meetings that are virtual, hybrid, and onsite local network setup. This allows us to route the correct support in real-time based on the urgency.
  • Real-time notification
  • Messaging the appropriate resource
  • Reporting needed for leadership based on usage
  • Routing complexity
PagerDuty allows for our required routing at a fair cost based on our needs.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
PagerDuty is a key monitoring and alerting component that we use org wide for Engineering Teams. The specific business problems that we address by using PagerDuty are
1. Org Wide alerting for critical components like error handling, out-of-memory detections etc
2. Infra based alerts to identify areas where load is a lot, for example if there are excessive arguments on an sidekiq queue
3. Low priority alerting of components as well
  • Alerting when Infra load becomes a lot eg, Sidekiq Arguments exceeding, Chewy Imports error
  • Manually Setup triggers for excessively running jobs
  • Error Based Handling based on team for appropriate routing and paging
  • Setup of teams, schedules, escalation policies with clear paths of instructions
  • More capabilities in the Mobile App
  • Search capabilities on incidents based on team and user-defined properties
I would highly recommend using PagerDuty because it is extremely useful in priority based alerting that can be configured to catch, mitigate and triage bottleneck reducing loads on server as well as other crucial key components. It helps in seggregating and defining the alerts based on specific paging keys giving external integrations a chance to utilize them is the best possible way to reduce the time spent in idle state. For me, PagerDuty is like a protective wrapper.
February 05, 2024

PagerDuty Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We leverage PagerDuty for immediate support at events. This is leveraged to ensure we provide the needed service and timing is critical to ensure our technical setup and any event delivery is conducted with everything required for our customers. We have a highly technical setup including a local network that is deployed which adds to the need for the immediate response.
  • immediate response
  • identifying the correct resource to provide support
  • Provide appropriate reporting for leadership
  • Cost
  • additional complexity of workflows
Onsite support workflow
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use PagerDuty to monitor our product and alert us when a threshold exceeds. PagerDuty is highly helpful in alerting on time so that I can take action without any delay. Also, it helps in scheduling shifts for team members seamlessly. PagerDuty dashboards are useful to check various metrics.
  • Alerting
  • Scheduling
  • Analytics
  • Sometimes PagerDuty alerts are coming in multiple times when there are 1 set of alerts which can be fixed.
PagerDuty is well suitable for monitoring production critical real time systems.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We majorly use PD for incident management and bug resolutions. PD has great integration with Slack that is very helpful for quick updates on the tickets directly from Slack. The monitoring and consolidation of issues is very convenient and is able to provide us with good visibility into related issues as well.
  • Slack integration
  • Different levels of severity handling
  • Simple and easy to navigate
  • On call scheduling
  • Analysis Dashboard needs work
  • Profile setup with Okta has been a hit or a miss
I've used ICM in the past which has been a very Microsoft product with everything thrown into a blender. So, PD implementation is a breath of fresh air with focused pages to achieve the end goal. If the goal is to collaborate on issues across the organization, PD might not be the best solution but within specific teams, PD excels at it.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I am part of the engineering team which owns the 24/7 on-call suport for all our services in the production and we use the pagerduty to effectively manage our on-call support and define the escalation policies.
Using pagerduty its easy to notify on-call person via message and call and we liked the feature where we can define after how much duration notification should be delivered to what medium and to whom. Also its easy to override the on-call schedule for a specified duration and manage the overall team on-call schedule.
Also pagerduty integrates very well with the other software we use like mail, Slack and their Android app works seamlessly for me.

  • on-call schedule management with different levels
  • notification delivery on app, message and call
  • Integration with Slack and mails
  • their call on phone can be improved as sometime it comes from different numbers which can be misinterpreted for spams
  • Better integration with Atlassian products so that it can create the issues in Jira directly with details of issue page
its best suited for the team which are operational heavy and where folks are situated around the globe, using pagerduty its easy to create follow the sun model for managing your on-call schedules and since its very popular and offer a good use-experience its easy to onboard new team members to pagerduty platform.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We started looking for a monitoring / alerting tool as the tool we were using was getting too expensive and licenses agreement was expiring. PagerDuty was rolled out for some teams primarily to create and alert the operations teams for application and infrastructure related issues. Using PagerDuty not only did we implement the existing monitoring as is, but a lot of tasks were automated. PagerDuty also helped us removed the dependency of monitoring team as the monitoring and callback feature was available in PagerDuty as IVR. This decision not only saved us some money, but we also reduced the Incident response time by 50%. Soon we updated to the premium license which included additional AI features and now we are utilizing even more features and integrations supported by PagerDuty.
  • Automated callout for INCs which means no one is sitting 24*7 monitoring INC queues.
  • Integrations with a lot of other software which means minimum overhead during implement
  • Using AI to automatically categorize alerts and reduce false alarms.
  • Status pages and Service graphs for High level overview to management
  • Analytical dashboards could be improved, with the ability to customize as per user needs
  • Some callouts are not triggered even in case of actual issues in my experience
  • Possibility to extend communications to distribution lists and users not registered as Pagerduty users
This is very useful for anyone looking to automate most of the monitoring/altering tasks, get AI based recommendations on alerts and reduce the need to people manually monitoring the INC queues. It also gives an option to get an overview of services impacted and stakeholders can get timely notifications. Incident response and resolution times are also reduced as only the right people are involved in the flow.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use PagerDuty as the single source for alerting our support teams when production issues arise. We love the fact that we can be notified via text, in-app notifications, phone calls (or even all three if you like). It integrates seamlessly with our cloud-based monitoring vendors like pingdom, Cronitor, and AlertBot.
  • Seamless integration with major cloud based monitoring platforms.
  • Allows you to be alerted how and where you prefer - SMS, app, phone call.
  • Very easy to set up on-call schedules.
  • Very easy to create overrides in schedules when someone needs to swap.
  • Can't think of anything.
It is best suited for numerous Support Teams with different on-call schedules. That is the scenario where we use it - so it's hard to imagine any "less appropriate" scenarios.
November 14, 2023

PagerDuty x Sales

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use PagerDuty as an on call alerting tool to let us know when inbound sales leads or messages come to the company sales/info email. We are required to respond in a certain amonunt of time and PagerDuty helps us do that
  • Integration with email, slack and SMS
  • Gives a detailed explanation of what the alert is
  • Ease of use & Set up
  • It would be cool if you could respond to the alert straight from pager duty
  • its pretty expensive so only some team members get access
  • reporting is not that analytical
Well Suited: On call teams getting alerted in a timely fashion. It eliminates the need to sit by your computer all night & day refreshing you screen. you know when you need to take action

No Appropriate: i dont see the need for it in my role to be used unless on call
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I manage a team that supports critical applications for a university. Before implementing PagerDuty, we encountered issues overnight and were not aware that there was a service failure until the morning, and/or if students informed us. We paired New Relic with PagerDuty, so that when specific metrics exceed the set thresholds, integration notifies PagerDuty and sends an alert to the relevant on-call support member.

Since implementing, PagerDuty has provided immediate alerting when a problem exists, and has allowed us to restore service (or prevent service loss in some cases) to minimise disruption.
  • Good integration
  • Reliable alerting
  • On-call scheduling
  • Reporting
  • Incident Response Management
  • Complexity. Although the platform is feature-rich, there can be a learning curve for new users. It may take some time to fully harness all of its capabilities.
We utilise PagerDuty to alert on-call staff of application failures, infrastructure issues. security alerts and on-call roster management. It's very versatile and has excellent integration options including the ability to establish unique email addresses for each service. Sending an email to that address will process this email and trigger an alert that corresponds to this email. Setting this up takes minimal time, and allows the scope of the product to be expanded dramatically.

We have also utilised the PagerDuty AI to aggregate alerts, reducing alert fatigue.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The PagerDuty platform is used across the organization for on-call management, event/alert management and automated escalations. The platform solved a significant inefficiency within the business related to on-call and escalations. Prior to PagerDuty, escalations were manual and not well documented. This made it difficult to hold people accountable and properly document problems. Through PagerDuty's escalation policies, on-call schedules and general workflow automation capabilities, the problem was solved fairly quick. Because our on-call team members are paid each time they answer an on-call request, this made tracking the notifications much easier.
  • Automated escalations and notifications.
  • Centralized event management through machine learning and rules.
  • Emergency operations team mobilization and engagement.
  • Simple, easy to use interface without complicated system management.
  • More flexible licensing models.
  • Reporting capabilities aren't as deep or as rich as other platforms.
  • Outages while seldom do happen on occasion.
If an organization lacks consistency in how on-call operations are handled or does not have a centralized way to mobilize resources quickly then PagerDuty is a fantastic option. While the platform was not originally designed for managed service providers, it can be adopted and adjusted to support multiple customers and partners. For organizations with a larger resource footprint with a wide variety of skillsets, PagerDuty makes it a breeze to get organized and get the right people on the phone when it matters.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I'm using PagerDuty as administrator and Manager. Followings are the operations I'm doing.
  • Create/update/delete the teams.
  • Create escalations policies.
  • Create schedule for teams
Business cases:
  • Incident Management
  • Alerting management
  • Page on-call users.
  • Integrations with 3rd party applications like Slack, AWS, Emails, and Jira.
  • Configure workflows in 3rd parties for e.g. on-call person schedule for a team in Slack.
  • Alerting systems that is most useful in incident management.
  • Integrations with 3rd party tools like Slack
  • Customizations of schedules.
  • Automatic provisioning/deprovisioning. Automatic deprovisioning is not supported by PagerDuty
  • Integration with Jira is not that customizable as it is with OpsGenie
  • Reporting can be improved more rather than conventional boards.
Scenarios where PagerDuty is well suited:
If you're working on a critical environment which will eventually affect B2C then you need a really strong alerting system so that you can setup alerting and make sure the availability of systems/resources without any interruptions.

Scenarios where PD is appropriate:
When you're working on something research base projects than having a pagerduty is not appropriate.
William Guertin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We primarily use PagerDuty for on-call alerting. We have a number of monitoring platforms that are integrated with PagerDuty or send emails to escalation policies for various teams across the org. We are able to maintain a schedule of individuals in each team and we are able to escalate alerting should current on-call fail to pick up the page.
  • integrates well with the various applications we use
  • escalation chain flexibility - allows for stages of increased alerting
  • we don't use all the functionality offered by PagerDuty, no real need
  • not always easy to find a historical alert if you dont know the exact alert ID
It is very good at consolidating alerting and having a centralized location for handling all alerting across all teams. It gives good flexibility in terms of user functionality. The escalation process seems to be very mature is very configurable. It seems limited in its ability to do complex routing of alerts, if you are wanting to rule based alerting that would need to be a feature based on the application that is triggering it and not some feature in PagerDuty.
February 21, 2023

Streamline

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
1. Automated deployment of infrastrucutre
2. Automation of issuing vpn certificates.
3. Automated reporting for various use cases
4. Aumated configuraiton deployment of services
  • scheduling of tasks
  • easy to automate execution of scripts
  • reporting on infrastrucure
  • web browser support (currently issues on chrome)
  • Performance
  • better configuration management
We use the opensource version as such we dont see the workflow management part of it.
We have used it extensivley for schedulling of maintenance tasks of our systems. It also helped us a lot of triggering ansible scripts to completely deploy and/or configure nodes on our cirtual infrastructure. We also use it for reporting- It becomes very diffcult ot use if you have a bunch of scripts with interdependency on passing dynamic variables between them
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
PagerDuty for us is a critical tool, rather it's for after-hours paging or raising awareness of a critical issue during the day. Part of being an IT is managing multiple systems, which can be on-prem or in the cloud, and when these systems have issues or are down, we need to get timely alerts from our RMM tools. PagerDuty makes this possible; using their application, we can set on-call rotations, backups, holidays, and substitutes and make sure that we have a hand on the wheel when things get bumpy. PD can tie directly into applications as a 3rd party plugin, which as the #1 solution, is widely supported, or there is the option for SMTP triggers. Businesses need PD, so IT can get those critical alerts to keep the business on track. I have tried comparable solutions and always find myself coming back to PD.
  • Paging the tech on call, via app or phone call.
  • SMTP and plugins to connect with a wide range of systems.
  • Great automation with on call schedules, and ability to adjust schedule on the fly.
  • I would like to see the price come down to something that is more manageable for smaller teams.
  • More reliable Android app.
  • Would like to see a desktop agent for techs that are at a screen all day.
What more can I say? The solution is robust and reliable. The best case I have is where PD didn't only get a tech involved at the right timing but saved a fortune in IT and Electrical Controls equipment and allowed us to prevent the risk of a wastewater treatment plant in the desert from shutting down due to extensive damage. PD paged a tech after an environment management system notified us that AC went down and the temperature was rapidly rising. Had the room gotten too hot, millions of dollars of equipment would have been lost, and the water supply for a city impacted. We got the page just in time, got a tech on-site to repair the AC, and there was no impact to the city or monetary loss.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
PagerDuty handles our on-call alerting. This means when we have production level outages or issues, they get sent to PagerDuty and PagerDuty has a schedule for our on-call engineers and can send texts, emails, Slack notifications, and phone calls to the correct person to handle. Within PagerDuty we setup schedules so we know who is primary and who is secondary on-call so that way we always have coverage.
  • alerts
  • schedule creation
  • on-call rotation
  • integration to other apps
  • integration FROM other apps
  • Make the on-call schedule easier to see/read
In our stacks we want to monitor for things like extreme latency, CPU usage, Memory Usage, etc. and these monitors/metrics are then sent to PagerDuty when they break certain thresholds which then allows PagerDuty to send alerts only to the on-call engineer who can go look at the issue and troubleshoot/fix as needed.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use PagerDuty to get real-time alerts for disruptions and outages. I have been using it for a year, and haven't had any issues whatsoever so far with it. Aside from the alerts, it has allowed us to significantly cut time on repetitive tasks when we have to declare a major incident that needs to be tackled by multiple people. We have integrated it with IM and video call: when the person on call gets an alert and deems it necessary to involve multiple people, they just click on a button, and the necessary people get notified via an IM message that contains the PagerDuty alert URL, and a video call link where they can join the rest of the team. This way, we just start doing the work that matters, which is tackling the issue at hand. Very happy with the product and the support service.
  • Alerting for disruptions and outages.
  • Integration with ticketing system.
  • Integration with IM.
  • Make integration with the sundeck community edition available for free, at least with minimal functionality.
PagerDuty is well suited for business-impacting incidents that need to be tackled by developers, DevOps, SREs, IT operations, and Customer Support. The ease of integration with ticketing platforms saves time, and the escalation system allows for collaboration between people specialized in different areas. So far, the only downside I have seen to it is the lack of a straightforward way to integrate it with the sundeck community edition with a plugin for example.
Wolf-Ekkehard Hindrichs | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We utilize PagerDuty for incident response -- so if something critical happens where we literally need to wake people up, this is how we do it. We have it integrated with our other systems so that there is a clear workflow and notification associated with any triggering event. Specifically, if an incident of a certain severity occurs, PagerDuty sets off an alert across multiple systems in support and engineering, pinging them on their phones, and mobilizing a response team
  • Integration with Slack
  • Integration with Jira
  • Integration with Zendesk
  • Notifications to Phones
  • Incident Response
  • PagerDuty honestly meets all of our needs as far as I can tell -- I do hear that it would be beneficial to be able to not have duplicate alerts, but this seems insignificant to me.
PagerDuty is really well suited for support and engineering, getting an incident response team aware of what is going on -- especially after hours -- and it integrates really easily. For what the tool does, I don't know that there is a less suited use. Very happy with the alerting and the integrations.
December 16, 2022

Amazing product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We used PagerDuty to manage our Out Of Hours support when there were site issues. It was useful to escalate calls and have a clear log of Who answered which issue, what time, and when issues had been resolved. It was also useful to handle and schedule the support rotas. Integration was fairly straight forward too.
  • Rota scheduling
  • Escalating issues
  • Record of answered incidents
  • Be good if it could use AI or learning metrics to suggest adjustments to frequency or triggers
  • Dashboard could be more customizable, especially on mobile to ensure key alerts always at the top
  • Sometimes slow on mobile, performance improvements would help users with many triggers
Well suited for many microservices, we have many teams owning multiple microservices hosted on AWS. PagerDuty is perfect for engineers and SRE to keep tabs on their services 247, in particular as each service does a specific function so it's easier to tune alerts. It's less well suited for large, heavy systems where many things could be going wrong and issues are less predictable. This requires more tuning of the alerts over time to reduce noise.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use pagerduty in our clients information system to recover, analyse and create alerts based on the cloud provider logging service.
PagerDuty is then configured to send alerts to specific users
  • Interface with certain cloud providers
  • Alerting configuration
  • Log & alerts visualisation
  • Clear documentation on the implementation using IaC tools
  • Poor community around the solution
Using pagerduty provides a SaaS solution ready to use, however, other (open source) solutions seem to be better suited such as the Elastic seach, Logstash and Kibana stack or Loki and Grafana. The main issue around pagerduty is the documentation. Once the documentation figured out, the implementation is pretty eazy.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We used PagerDuty primarily to manage on-call rotations across multiple engineering and support teams and to route automated alerts to the correct people in correct engineering teams. We also used it occasionally to route urgent (24/7) customer support requests to the correct people in product support departments. Additionally PagerDuty escalated incidents when they were not acknowledged or resolved promptly, and we used it as a tool to analyze data about the causes of frequent issues.
  • Managing on-call rotations
  • Sending notifications for urgent issues
  • Tracking data about incidents and our incident response
  • Analytics — diving into the source of incidents
PagerDuty works well when your company or your customers expect 24/7 support from engineering or other departments. It's great for managing a support rotation and tracking incidents. However, I currently work in a different organization that doesn't need production-level support on our systems, and PagerDuty is seen as more of an annoyance there. In my new organization other "low-tech" solutions like Slack push notifications are lower friction and feel more appropriate to our team.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Pagerduty is used both for alerting teams to application problems that are identified by our monitoring and observability platforms as well as engaging on-call resources into an active incident bridge for real-time troubleshooting and remediation.
  • managing on-call schedules
  • providing multiple ways to trigger an escalation policy
  • providing multiple ways to configure escalation to additional responders
  • allowing the user to configure how they want to be contacted
  • enforcing governance around timing between levels on an escalation policy
  • enforcing governance around numbers of levels on an escalation policy
  • enforcing governance around how users configure their contact methods
PagerDuty is very flexible allowing users and teams to manage who is oncall, and for what escalation policies. It also provides a very robust set of APIs that allows the organization to do just about anything you can do from the PagerDuty UI. While the flexibility is great, and the API would effectively allow an organization to enforce whatever governance it wanted on how it's teams leverage PagerDuty, it doesn't have much governance out of the box. If an organization doesn't have a robust engineering team, and they want governance over how things are configured, PagerDuty may not be the solution for them. There also may not be any better options in the market.
December 16, 2022

Reporting for PagerDuty!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
PagerDuty was used on our on-call rotation for Technical Support Engineers. If a request came in from a customer outside of business hours, it would trigger PagerDuty to page the on-call engineer. We typically had engineers on-call overnight or on the weekends, so PagerDuty allowed them to be away from their station but still be alerted if an issue came up.
  • Scheduling
  • Alerting
  • Audit Trails
  • Cost
  • Learning Curve
  • Permissioning
PagerDuty is a great solution for large teams that require immediate action when things aren't going right. If your business needs urgent support provided to customers if your product fails, PagerDuty allows you to empower your team to only engage when a set of triggers are met. It also gives you back up layers to ensure issues are responded to, even if the main on-call person isn't able to be reached.
Return to navigation