Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Paylocity

Paylocity

Overview

What is Paylocity?

Paylocity provides 24/7 access to your online payroll and human resource data management. Paylocity offers highly customizable payroll functionality, as well as HR, benefits administration, and time and talent management programs.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Paylocity Review

9 out of 10
July 09, 2024
Incentivized
We utilize the system in a number of different ways including time tracking, payroll, benefits administration, onboarding solutions and …
Continue reading

Paylocity Review

8 out of 10
July 09, 2024
Incentivized
We use it for payroll services and HRIS services as well. Looking at implementing more in the next year or so, probably the benefits …
Continue reading

Paylocity Review

8 out of 10
July 09, 2024
Incentivized
So we use it for our onboarding employee survey questions. We use it for our payroll, we use it for our documentation, storage, and I-9 …
Continue reading

Paylocity for us....

4 out of 10
July 03, 2024
Incentivized
We use it for payroll, time off requests, community platform, record keeping, etc... It is our primary HRIS system. It helps track FMLA …
Continue reading

Paylocity Review

7 out of 10
July 01, 2024
Incentivized
We use it for everything. For payroll, it's our HRIS system. It's a point of truth, that's what we call it. It handles our performance …
Continue reading

Paylocity Review

10 out of 10
July 01, 2024
Incentivized
We currently use it for payroll and we are beginning to use it for reviews and performance reviews. And we are starting to roll out your …
Continue reading

Paylocity Review

10 out of 10
July 01, 2024
Incentivized
We use HRIS system every day for everyday use, whether it be clock in, clock out, PTO, employee information, performance reviews, …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 48 features
  • Update personal information (959)
    8.7
    87%
  • Pay calculation (928)
    8.6
    86%
  • View and generate pay and benefit information (942)
    8.6
    86%
  • Employee demographic data (926)
    8.5
    85%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Paylocity?

Paylocity provides 24/7 access to your online payroll and human resource data management. Paylocity offers highly customizable payroll functionality, as well as HR, benefits administration, and time and talent management programs.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.paylocity.com/our…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

Alternatives Pricing

What is Bitrix24?

Bitrix24 is a local-hosted or cloud-based social intranet and project management platform that also contains core HR (HRMS) and CRM features. Bitrix24 also provides time management services and employee self-service.

What is BrightHR?

British company BrightHR offers a human resources platform which helps replace paper documents with edocuments and contains features for managing employee scheduling and ROTA, sick leave and tardiness, vacation and holiday shift planning, as well as providing employment law legal advice.

Return to navigation

Features

Human Resource Management

Organizing, tracking and providing instant access to critical employee data, job profiles, transfers, promotions, and benefits information.

7.8
Avg 7.9

Payroll Management

Provides for pay calculation and benefit plan administration, in addition to managing direct deposit, salary revisions and payroll tracking.

8.2
Avg 8.0

Leave and Attendance Management

Streamlines communication between HR and employees and facilitates efficient management of employee leave including requisitions, approvals, balance calculation, and annual carry-forward.

7.6
Avg 8.1

Employee Self Service

Employee portal allowing employees to view and update their personal information.

8.4
Avg 8.1

Asset Management

Maintaining a record of assets such as laptops, pagers, cell phones, etc. issued to employees. Record typically includes asset type, number, serial number and date of issuance.

7.4
Avg 7.8

HR Reporting

Pre-built and custom reports, and integration with external data.

7.1
Avg 7.6

Onboarding

Employee onboarding is the process of orienting new hires to the social and performance aspects of their jobs so that they are able to function in their new roles as quickly as possible.

8.2
Avg 8.0

Performance and Goals

Goal alignment is the practice of ensuring that all employees have clearly defined goals in support of the overall corporate strategy.

7.5
Avg 8.2

Performance Management

Performance management is the process of ensuring employees meet pre-determined objectives and goals through regular check-ins and appraisals.

7.4
Avg 8.0

Succession Planning

Succession planning is the identification and development of internal employees with the potential to fill key business leadership positions in the company.

7.4
Avg 8.0

Recruiting / ATS

Recruiting or Applicant Tracking Software is software used to manage the recruitment process electronically by handling job postings, applicant status, resume management, etc.

7.8
Avg 7.8
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Paylocity?

Paylocity is a software platform designed to give HR pros a way to manage daily tasks in payroll, benefits, talent, and workforce management. The vendor states their technology is backed by a culture that cares about client success, and that they take the time to get to know customers and understand their needs. Paylocity works with users to identify the solutions that will benefit a business today, while paving the way to a better tomorrow.

Paylocity Features

Human Resource Management Features

  • Supported: Employee demographic data
  • Supported: Employment history
  • Supported: Job profiles and administration
  • Supported: Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
  • Supported: Benefits information
  • Supported: Organizational charting
  • Supported: Organization and location management
  • Supported: Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)

Payroll Management Features

  • Supported: Pay calculation
  • Supported: Support for external payroll vendors
  • Supported: Off-cycle/On-Demand payment
  • Supported: Payroll history for each employee
  • Supported: Benefit plan administration
  • Supported: Direct deposit files
  • Supported: Payroll tracking and auditing
  • Supported: Salary revision and increment management
  • Supported: Reimbursement management
  • Supported: Statutory form management

Leave and Attendance Management Features

  • Supported: Approval workflow
  • Supported: Email notifications
  • Supported: Balance details
  • Supported: Travel absence management
  • Supported: Annual carry-forward and encashment

Employee Self Service Features

  • Supported: Employee login
  • Supported: View and generate pay and benefit information
  • Supported: Update personal information
  • Supported: Request time off
  • Supported: View job history
  • Supported: View company policy documentation
  • Supported: View company news and information
  • Supported: Employee recognition

Asset Management Features

  • Supported: Tracking of all physical assets
  • Supported: Asset issue and transfer management
  • Supported: Asset return
  • Supported: Warranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking

HR Reporting Features

  • Supported: Report builder
  • Supported: Pre-built reports
  • Supported: Ability to combine HR data with external data

Integration with other HR capabilities Features

  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor

Performance Management Features

  • Supported: Performance plans
  • Supported: Performance improvement plans
  • Supported: Review status tracking
  • Supported: Review reminders
  • Supported: Multiple review frequency

Succession Planning Features

  • Supported: Create succession plans/pools
  • Supported: Candidate ranking
  • Supported: Candidate search
  • Supported: Candidate development

Onboarding Features

  • Supported: New hire portal
  • Supported: Manager tracking tools

Performance and Goals Features

  • Supported: Corporate goal setting
  • Supported: Individual goal setting
  • Supported: Line-of sight-visibility
  • Supported: Performance tracking

Recruiting / ATS Features

  • Supported: Job Requisition Management
  • Supported: Company Website Posting
  • Supported: Publish to Social Media
  • Supported: Job Search Site Posting
  • Supported: Duplicate Candidate Prevention
  • Supported: Applicant Tracking
  • Supported: Notifications and Alerts

Paylocity Videos

Paylocity - Care at the Core
Ritch Price Operational Controller, New England Authentic Eats 2,200 Employees

Paylocity Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone

Frequently Asked Questions

Paylocity provides 24/7 access to your online payroll and human resource data management. Paylocity offers highly customizable payroll functionality, as well as HR, benefits administration, and time and talent management programs.

Paycom, Paycor, and Paychex Flex are common alternatives for Paylocity.

Reviewers rate Direct deposit files highest, with a score of 9.

The most common users of Paylocity are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(1690)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 1050)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
July 09, 2024

Paylocity Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We utilize the system in a number of different ways including time tracking, payroll, benefits administration, onboarding solutions and for recruiting.
  • We are an organization that focuses on providing white glove service to our internal and external clients, and we have been impressed with how Paylocity streamlines processes for us, reducing administrative time for our employees. This has been especially helpful with reducing time spent on onboarding and open enrollment.
  • I think more integration with AI would be helpful. Whether it is helping us streamline job descriptions, helping us continue to identify and attract the right kind of candidates, maybe even helping us identify skills gaps once we have resumes and those types of things in the system. I think all of those things might be helpful in the future.
We are a professional services organization where "time is money", so having a quick and easy solution to use is important for us. If you have a similar situation, I would recommend reviewing what Paylocity has to offer.
July 09, 2024

Paylocity Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it for payroll services and HRIS services as well. Looking at implementing more in the next year or so, probably the benefits module and possibly some others.
  • The reporting is fantastic. I've always been impressed with that compared to other software that I've used. And the payroll is very easy to run. It's very intuitive, pretty straightforward.
  • I think the ACA reporting could be a little bit more robust. We end up using a different vendor because we have an ICRA and Paylocity doesn't work super well with that at the present time.
I don't know if I can think of scenarios where it's less appropriate. I think it functions really well for us as an organization in terms of human capital management and payroll, so I don't really have any notes on that.
July 09, 2024

Paylocity Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
So we use it for our onboarding employee survey questions. We use it for our payroll, we use it for our documentation, storage, and I-9 verifications and training to sign off on documents and things like that.
  • I feel like it's really user-friendly. When we launch something to the employees, we don't get any questions back about it got stuck or that there was an issue. We recently just updated our travel policy, so that was launched to all of the employees for digital signature and that's gone very well.
  • We've had trouble with the multi-state payroll and the tax filings. Many of them have been filed late and we've gotten fees and fines for those. However, when the team reaches out to Paylocity, they do waive those, but it's just an extra step of that.
It does really well with multi-state payroll as far as identifying employees that have to pay taxes in certain counties and countries that's done well. Other than that, no real other challenges.
July 09, 2024

Paylocity Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
I use it for our FSA, our HRA, and for Cobra, I don't have any concerns right now with it. I like it. It's pretty easy to navigate.
  • I'm able to keep everything in one place.
  • I'm really satisfied with it, so I don't have anything personally that I would change.
I can't think of anything off the top of my head. It's pretty straightforward for what I need it for. I can't think of anything where it's less appropriate.
July 09, 2024

Paylocity Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Well, I'm more of an operations person, so I'm not really walking each of the clients through it, so I don't know that implementation process. I'm the person who writes proposals, meets with clients, discusses our different products, and then I kind of run the office as well. So I'm doing the payroll and putting onboarding, and offboarding.
  • It makes onboarding so easy. It really does. I mean, you can just kind of set up a link and send it to your new employee and it's pretty easy for them to get themselves. All the information's right there downloaded and ready to go.
  • I know from an implementation with our clients, we've run into a few issues and we've been working with different people at Paylocity to kind of clear it up and make it a smoother transition for our clients. And it's more with small clients, it seems like the big ones go really easily and for some reason the small ones cause us more problems.
Well-suited, just all the different components that you can buy to go with it. It's really endless. We were just going to add the expense payment feature and we're really excited about that so it's going to make it a lot easier, but the options are endless.
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it for payroll, time off requests, community platform, record keeping, etc... It is our primary HRIS system. It helps track FMLA hours used, Osha Tracking Cases, Reporting through workflows, gaining employee feedback, tracking time off, and various other issues.
  • easy to use employee platform
  • Community Platform.
  • Complexity of adding FMLA hours
  • over complexity in adding workflows
  • adding leave buckets for FMLA/PTO or FMLA/Wellness
  • being able to share reports
  • training its staff to share the same information
Paylocity allows us to keep everyone in one system for the most part. However, many of its systems are overly complicated and not always user friendly. They frequently change things with no notice, or when we ask for changes, they do not make them. We have had NUMEROUS reps and they all seem to know different things and tell us different things. It's hard to know what to do when everything is inconsistent.
July 03, 2024

Paylocity Review

Beverly Robinson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Paylocity is our main software for HR & Payroll & Timekeeping; as well as compensation management and review processes; disciplinary journals and Community outreach. It manages to keep all information within one software 'compartment' so that we aren't logging into separate processes to combine the information. We still have many aspects of Paylocity to use yet as a resource but we start with Onboarding, Workflows, surveys, Learning Module & Performance along with Data Insights for report information at our fingertips.
  • Provides the majority of our data for our employees and reporting in one software product.
  • Once setup; the Onboarding feature makes bringing in new employees very smooth while collecting and completing all compliance information from the candidate themselves.
  • Performance Module with Journals provides a good platform for documenting positive as well as disciplinary events.
  • Maintaining a dedicated & competent Service Representative that is fully aware of our company's aspects and available.
  • More customization for our company's uses of menus, fields, etc... without feeling as though it has to be a part of a multiple client approved change... our changes to our menus shouldn't affect other businesses and vice versa -- something another company chooses should not change my views in the software.
  • Reporting aspects are improving, but having more control over ad-hoc reports that are more user friendly would be a big plus!
  • The Mobile App needs some adjustments to make it easier to use and more employee-friendly.
Onboarding once configured has made our hiring process a smooth transition into employee database that encompasses HR & Payroll as well as Time & Labor for timekeeping purposes. And like all companies these days - finding qualified, dedicated employees and enough of them is difficult for Paylocity as well.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Onboarding, e-verify, payroll, hris, 401k integration. Paylocity addresses basic needs for our company and compliments the other vendors we use. There are several integrations our company uses to limit the number of other portals we must log into on a regular basis. The payroll automation is a must for our company.
  • Payroll
  • 401k integration
  • user interface
  • tax team
  • customer service
Paylocity is well suited for payroll and new use cases are integrated constantly by the company. The onboarding tool and process in Paylocity has saved our team a massive amount of time.
July 01, 2024

Paylocity Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it for everything. For payroll, it's our HRIS system. It's a point of truth, that's what we call it. It handles our performance review process. It handles even our employee announcements. It's our engagement tool and really solves everything, compensation, bonuses, and the whole gamut. The only thing it doesn't do is our expenses.
  • Actually. I find that the product itself is just easy to navigate, so it is quite inviting for our employees, especially new ones coming into our company. It is very approachable. So I think that the layout, the way that it looks, the way you navigate it is quite friendly.
  • Honestly, there's only one big negative I have found with using Paylocity and it is our customer service. It is not that I can't get it, but I have to randomly call and we've even gotten into a trick that if the person doesn't sound confident in the answer, we just hang up and try again. It's not an ideal way to deal business, but we also enjoy the product and just want to work around it.
I think it's really well suited for our size business. It's really great for reporting, so I think it does that really well.
July 01, 2024

Paylocity Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We currently use it for payroll and we are beginning to use it for reviews and performance reviews. And we are starting to roll out your journal option and we are just about to roll out benefits with you as well. So you'll be our benefit portal.
  • So much. It's very intuitive. It's very easy for our new employees, especially to use easy for tracking time, love the option for recognition. We're just getting started on that. The biggest thing is everything's all right there where we need it and it's easy for our employees.
  • I think the only thing I can think of off the top of my head is right now it's several steps for us to get our employees to their work state Labor law poster. Because we're a remote company, we have 30 states, that would probably be the most thing. I think it's three clicks into it before they get to where they need to be.
In our experience, our previous payroll company was horrific and not user-friendly and was very limited.

Paylocity, it's just all great. I love the ease of access on the portal, on the front page, everything is right there. I can't get more specific. It's just good.
July 01, 2024

Paylocity Reviews

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
We use it for everything. We use it for managing the employee files, and virtual files. We use it to onboard employees. We use it for recruiting. And it's nice because it all rolls together. Even the I-9 and onboarding, you can do the I-9 virtually with everybody you're hiring remotely. We use the surveys aspects quite a bit in it. I use the data insights a lot as far as monitoring, retention, and things like that with employees and different factors that you just don't think about otherwise. As far as a use case, I don't know what I would specifically give you for that, but it does solve a lot of our issues. When I joined the company I'm at now, about four and a half years ago, they had used it. They had Paylocity already. It was implemented, but they were not using it at all. I mean, they didn't have even titles in there. They didn't have hire dates in there. They would just put a hire date based on whenever they paid 'em the first time. And so it made me look really good when I go in and insert very basic information. And now they have an org chart and now they have structured recruiting. And so it made me look really good, really quick.
  • I've used two other companies that failed miserably. But the one thing I really appreciate about Paylocity is the recruiting aspect of it and how you can streamline it. For most of my career, I was a department of one. So I was doing it all. And so the recruiting piece that it does and how you can post and you can post internal and external, it'll track the applicants. You can do automatic disqualifiers, you can do automatic notices to employees, automatic stuff to managers that you can tag in there for being a department of one for a long time. It really streamlined the process and it made it look like it was more than one person doing the work.
  • One thing that, since I've been using you guys and I've let you guys know and they've said, Hey, they put it on the roadmap if they're able to get to it. One simple thing that I think a lot of people I know that are, it's not frustration, it's just a very simple thing to fix. Once an employee submits a PTO request, an email goes to the manager's like, Hey, you need to approve PTO. There's no link, there's no nothing. So a lot of my managers who don't use it as much as I do, then they're confused and they got to go log in and there's no alert, there's no notification, there's no nothing. So whether it's a link in that email that takes them right to, Hey, log in, here's your approval of PTO or whatever it is, that would be a huge, I can't tell you how many managers I've had to walk through. Okay. I know it's not there. You have to log in, you have to go here, you have to go to approved time off. So that little simple thing would help a ton, I think.
I think it's well-suited across the board. My last company was a lot bigger and it works for them, it doesn't matter what size you are, it's what's nice about it. You talk to some of these payroll companies and if you're not 200 employees or 500 employees, they won't even talk to you. Paylocity, I mean, of course, they'll talk to you, but it works well for all sizes of organizations. And price-wise, when I switched our last company from actually Paycom to Paylocity, I mean it was a 30% savings and I was getting everything they offered. It wasn't me picking and choosing and let's cut this back. So not only did I feel like the product was better and it still is, but it was cheaper than the other competitors.
July 01, 2024

Paylocity Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use it for everything from onboarding to benefits 401k and I'm just general management of employee documentation and payroll. So I'm in the system multiple times a day. The payroll processing is very easy, very user-friendly. The system UI is very user-friendly. My business use case is that it saves me time as a department of one. I'm pulled in a lot of different directions, so I'm able to assign tasks through Paylocity through the workflows and documents section. My onboarding has eliminated a lot of paperwork and gives the employee access to everything that they need. I used to get many questions from them in the weeks leading up to them starting and now everything is seamless with the workflows that I've set up within onboarding.
  • Onboarding, I've hired so many people. We're growing rapidly, so I'm able to set up specific onboarding depending on the position and I can load in different documents that each classification of employee would need. So I have different documents for our production workforce, our salary workforce, our remote workforce. I'm able to have them sign everything through a DocuSign as part of the onboarding. Again, it saves me so much time and I go in and I'm able to do my part of that. I believe the one I just did today is about 18 steps. So the employee uploads everything E-Verify is built in with that. So that's one less thing I have to do. I'm just verifying those documents and then everything goes from onboarding into that employee document center underneath employee search, she can find it within their documents, so I'm able to export that as a backup into their personnel folder.
  • And this could totally be user error for me. Most of my notifications go into the notification center within Paylocity. I would like to see those come to my email because I don't check that notification center as a department of one, my focus and time is limited when I get pulled in many different directions. So having emails come to me instead of going to my notification center would be great.
I think it's really good for my experience as a small company, it integrates with all of our systems. So like I said, I don't have to manually import the 401k anymore. I don't have to manually input the benefits. So the 360 between those systems is really a time saver for me. So that's really great. I don't really have areas that could improve. It is probably my own limited knowledge of what Paylocity has available and just the time resource that I would dedicate to learning it. I really don't have anything bad to say. It's night and day different from what we were previously using. The UI is amazing. Our employees had fantastic feedback about the difference between our previous HRIS system and Paylocity. So I really don't have anything bad to say.
July 01, 2024

Paylocity Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
We use it for all HRIS, so payroll, time and attendance, performance benefits, onboarding, and recruiting, we use it for everything. We actually switched from ADP because with Paylocity everything is all in one. We can order our background checks, we can do it onboarding right then and there. With ADP, we had to outsource everything, so that was our main goal for Paylocity. Was everything all in one.
  • Onboarding for sure. Onboarding is seamless. You create the packages and it comes automatically to you and it's your turn to do something. If something is incorrect, you send it back to the employee. It's very, very easy to take them from recruiting to onboarding the recruitment platform also very, very easy creating the workflows seamlessly. Easy. Payroll I don't really touch much on, but as I've heard it's very easy. Everything is pretty user-friendly so far.
  • Hard to use is definitely the workflows with the documents, document uploads, assigning a document to an employee for signature. It's a little confusing. Even our account manager was a little confused. That's another thing. The two account managers that we have had are kind of green in the area of Paylocity, so they don't really know how to assist us. They kind of outsource the question to other account managers and that's kind of something that we don't want. But everything other than that has been great so far.
It makes sense to use Paylocity if you have a lot of employees with a lot of moving parts with recruiting and onboarding at my location, my company, it is just myself and my HR director. We're a team of two for 500 employees, so we needed something that was everything all in one. We didn't have to outsource anything. So that would be a great thing to use Paylocity for. If you have a small company with not a lot of moving parts, not many people on your payroll, and no recruiting really, I would not suggest Paylocity for that.
July 01, 2024

Paylocity Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
So we use Paylocity for HR and payroll. Basically, we use it also for onboarding and the fact that it takes care of our I-9 verifications. We also use it for our ACA. We use it for a lot of different things. I know I can do so much more with Paylocity, but realistically I'm an HR team of one. I just don't have the time to learn how to do the performance reviews, learn how to do the learning management system. I know we pay for it right now and I will get to it at some point, but not right now.
  • Honestly, I think the best thing about Paylocity is their customer service manager. So we had one named {B...}, and he was amazing. We had him for about six months. Anytime I had any sort of issue or question, he was immediately responsive. Either would respond within the hour or if he doesn't know the answer, he's like, I'm working on getting this answer for you. Loved [B...]. And [B...] got promoted. Good for him. We were so sad we lost him. But now we have [M...] and [M...] is also great. I honestly don't reach out to [M...] as frequently as I did [B...], that's because with [B...] we were still new at the product. I had a lot more questions. Now I'm in a little bit more steady state. We're pretty comfortable. But yeah, I would say that the customer service side Paylocity does very, very well.
  • I think the implementation was unnecessarily hard. I think there were too many cooks in the kitchen. There was not just one person who knew everything. We had to work with [...] for onboarding. We had to work with [...} for time and labor. We had to work with, I don't remember her name, for HR and payroll. It was just like three different people were experts in three different things and no one actually knew what the other person did. So when you're on a call and if all three didn't join, it was kind of really difficult. And getting the answer to some things, I had to reach out to [...] and be like, Hey, I'm pretty sure you showed this to me during the demo, but they don't know what I'm talking about. And [...] just had to step in and be like, Hey, this is what I'm talking about. And he taught the implementation team how to do something that I knew you guys could do. And that was a little frustrating that not everyone was trained to the same level [...] was.
Onboarding. So easy to use, loved it. The fact that you take care of my I-9s is amazing and it just so seamlessly is integrated with HR and payroll and time and labor and it's just like the click of a button. That's amazing.
Less appropriate? Honestly, your recruiting system. For me, it's just easier for me to just get the applications directly through. Indeed, review the resume myself and then decide versus using a Paylocity page. But that could just be use of error, I don't know.
July 01, 2024

Paylocity Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use HRIS system every day for everyday use, whether it be clock in, clock out, PTO, employee information, performance reviews, recruiting. We pretty much use every single module of the Paylocity system.
  • So far we've done a lot of product use performance evaluations where our employees do their evaluations every year, but we also do journaling and one-on-one meetings. I think that's probably one of the best benefits of the system. We've transitioned into the compensation module as well, so that's helped us out with pay increases and also the compensation within the company.
  • I do have some little quirks that I would like to fix and that's in performance. You have to actually do the filters to search for a certain item that you're looking for. And if you don't know that you have to clear those filters out, you're going to be struggling. So I wish that the filters weren't right away there.
Actually, I think in any scenario it's appropriate. We have a company of 140 employees and I've heard of people that have in the thousands of employees who use Paylocity. So any company, even small or large can benefit from the product.
July 01, 2024

Paylocity Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We were manual before we got Paylocity, so we do payroll on it. We replaced another company with Paylocity. Our payroll wasn't manual but our time clocks were. Like the old pre Flintstone stone chunk it in type thing and we went to facial recognition.
  • I really like the time clock situation because obviously when the old school, anybody could punch in and out for anyone, so it gets away from that because you only have one facial recognition, so nobody can check in and out for you. Also, the PTO associated with it is online, so we're able to request time off, approve time off, that type of thing. All with your telephone, which is today's technology and the payroll runs really smoothly.
  • Setting people up on the time clock, there's like a little delay because when we go in to set up, it wants to default to a badge number instead of the facial, but if it goes 24 hours, it resets overnight and then the next morning it's on facial. It would be nice if it didn't have to do that. It essentially means we delay one day. I mean the world doesn't end and it's still way better, but that'd be a nice thing to figure out that little bug.
Our company is a small company, 47 employees. We have a warehouse on site. It works really well for us. I think if you had a really large company and there was maybe a line of people wanting to check in or whatever and you had a new employee because the time clock issue with the new employees a little bit clunky, that could be an annoying situation, but otherwise, not really. That's the only thing I can think of.
July 01, 2024

Paylocity Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
We use it for recruiting. We use it for payroll, we use it for employee profile management. We use it for tracking skills and training. We also use it for performance management.
  • I think the performance management side is really nice. I mean, there's a couple of updates that I would love to see, but I really like the ability to be able to document conversations with employees, doing the reviews, getting other employees feedback when you're completing a review. So I really like how that module works.
  • I don't love the tax wizard in the onboarding module. I don't love that just because we have a lot of employees that struggle with hitting the right buttons. And I'm super excited to hear that they're going to add employee signatures, on journal entries, which is fantastic. Those would be the updates that I would ask for. And one of them is already coming.
One of the things I really like about it is I feel that the employee records are really robust. I feel like you can enter in a lot of information where, for example, managing certificates or licenses or skills. I really like that you can keep all of the performance management in-house with the employee records. I really like that. I also really like that there's a community board and that you can communicate with your entire staff in that way.
I think it's really well suited because I work in healthcare and so we have a lot of providers that have medical licenses, nurse practitioner licenses, RN licenses, DEA licenses, and being able to manage them in one place and be able to do reporting on them and see when they're coming due and when they're going to expire, I think is fantastic. So I really, really am pleased about that portion.
July 01, 2024

Paylocity Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
So we use Paylocity from the very beginning, from the recruiting stage to get all of our job applicants to then do interviews, to then track them, to make an offer, to then have them become an employee, put them through our onboarding, and then we also use it for our payroll processing.
The scope of our use is broad. We literally use it for everything. It's our HRIS system and our payroll, it's our everything. It resolves the need for multiple different systems. I love that everything is just in one place. I love that it's very user-friendly. All my employees can use it and it's easy to help them get on board with using it.
  • It handles payroll very well. It handles time and labor very well. It handles applicant tracking well and the onboarding processes really well. It's very easy to customize.
  • No, I know they're working on implementing it so that we can control our own GL that I'm looking forward to. That is one thing that I feel like has been missing, so I'm happy to see them addressing it.
  • We went through a couple of different service reps, but that's been my only issue. The problem is a couple of the service reps.
We used to use a different product and it was not very easy to onboard people. It was kind of a manual process for onboarding. I feel like Paylocity's onboarding, is very, very well thought out, handles it very well. So I would say onboarding is probably one of the things that they do well. I honestly can't think of anything it's not suited for.
July 01, 2024

Paylocity Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We're using it for payroll benefits, talent acquisition, and we will be moving our performance management over as well. It is moving us from a lot of manual work. We had several systems that were not talking to each other, so Paylocity gives us a one-stop shop.
  • It's really user-friendly. Not only is the prompts very intuitive, but then it's all those great videos and tutorials.
  • A few more integrations. I have looked at some possible vendors that don't integrate with Paylocity.
Talent acquisition. It's the best tool I've used where we're able to follow people in one system from application through hire and then they're seamlessly integrated into the employee profile.
I haven't found a scenario yet where it's less appropriate.
June 27, 2024

Paylocity Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use it for payroll, for onboarding, for recruiting, performance management, data analytics. It makes everything more electronic and I use it across the board for everything.
  • Payroll and expense reporting and onboarding all the way through to hiring.
  • The tax wizard could be a little bit more user-friendly, as well as attendance points on the app.
It's well suited on all areas of HR, especially payroll makes everything very streamlined where nothing gets forgotten. The employee navigator is really, really nice with it that I don't have to go to each individual platform to put in new enrollments.
June 27, 2024

Paylocity Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It's our human capital management system. Everything HR that we do is in there. We have just our time and labor with our staff. Our benefits are integrated through there. We do our recruiting and onboarding, applicant tracking through there. So it's really like our hub of everything we do in HR.
  • Our applicant tracking is the newest piece that we have brought on with the recruiting module and it has allowed the communication with our applicants, it's brought it up a level. Previously everything was done via phone or email, but going with Paylocity we were able to text, which is huge for not only us as staff members but for our potential new hires as well.
  • We do a disaster recovery. We have employees in the eastern region of the United States, and we currently use Google to text a mass text and email to our staff if something were to happen. I've inquired previously with Paylocity about being able to text our staff a disaster recovery type message and at that time it wasn't a capability that was there. So I'm actually curious if there is that capability now and where we might be.
I think it can be used in any situation.
June 27, 2024

Paylocity Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it for all of our HR needs outside of human resources. We use it for timekeeping, scheduling, recruitment, onboarding, and some training. It really has helped us streamline from being a very paper-heavy organization to being a lot more electronic. Currently I'm working on building out a couple more forms and workflows to help us eliminate more of the paper concepts as well as creating an onboarding experience for our new applicants or candidates.
  • I will say making the onboarding experience easy is great. Anyone that I send out an invite to, they're doing it in maybe 30 minutes, which is wonderful. I do know the recruitment has really changed a lot of our time recruiting our paper accessibilities. It's also elevating the staff in regards to our technology core concepts or baseline.
  • I really like the reporting features now that they just implemented a little bit more of the dynamic reporting. It's actually helped streamline more of our government forms and reports that our audits require.
  • From an admin perspective, I do struggle a little bit with the app because I don't have full recruiting capabilities, I'm not able to quickly turn turn around candidates if I'm not in the library or I'm not near my laptop. From the phone's perspective, if I try to pull up anything in Paylocity, it definitely does not display the same way as on a laptop or a computer. Those are some of the biggest downfalls I will say I am working through.
  • Staff punching in and out. Over the last couple of weeks, we seem to have a lot of problems with it, so I'm trying to troubleshoot that with the staff. I did just speak with a representative in some other troubleshooting possibilities that might help improve that overall.
From a well suited standpoint, I will say when we do payroll now, it's very simple. It takes us maybe five minutes to actually process the payroll where a lot of the auditing capabilities that we now have takes us a little bit longer, but that's on our end. Five minutes to process payroll is great.
June 27, 2024

Paylocity Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it for payroll. The HR Edge we recently started using as well. We needed an employee handbook, which we did not have, so we now have our draft of our employee handbook all ready to go. We just have to get it approved. That has been a huge help and a huge solution to one of our major issues, which was not having an employee handbook. We also recently integrated the Bswift platform for our benefits, and that has also been a huge help because prior to Bswift we were doing everything with Excel spreadsheets and now it's a much more streamlined way for our employees to select their benefits. We're able to make changes as we see and as we get alerts. So that's also been a really big help with Paylocity as well.
  • I would say Paylocity as a whole does really well with their communication to their clients. So to us, anytime we have an issue, especially with the Bswift platform, we have an HR leader at Paylocity that's literally able to just help us with whatever technical issues that we're having, any HR issues, any information issues, all of that. Everyone's been super, super helpful when we have a concern or we're having trouble using this system, which isn't often.
  • Areas for improvement, because we've implemented so many of the different functions of Paylocity, having everything integrate with one another has been a little bit of a challenge. So we'll input information in HR and payroll, but it doesn't necessarily flow super well into the other kinds of platforms in Paylocity. So that's been a little bit of a challenge.
Honestly, in our day to day, it is just been well suited to my daily work life. We also do performance reviews within Paylocity. We do surveys for company events in Paylocity. So since I started my role, it's been an integral tool that we really use every day.
June 27, 2024

Paylocity

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use the full platform, so we have all comprehensive modules. We mostly use it for payroll, performance management, recruitment, and everything in between.
  • The payroll software is top notch. Recruitment module has been great. I think the workflow and the way you can customize all of the features of the recruitment module is awesome. Same thing with performance, you can really tailor everything to your specific company needs.
  • Recruitment. I know you are already working on a integration into teams, so there are some of those little nuances that the system doesn't currently utilize, but feedback is taken pretty swiftly and seriously, so I appreciate that.
It is well suited for an organization that is probably between 75 to a hundred employees to use the full, comprehensive, fewer employees, I would say payroll, and maybe some of the features are great and not well suited for a company that is not prepared to make the investment. There is a high ROI in using the system, but it does come with a price that is worth paying when you have employees that you're supporting.
June 27, 2024

Paylocity Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We initially used it for payroll only and then we liked it so well that we added it. The next thing we added I think was the recruitment piece. And we had a third party recruitment software. We wanted to incorporate the transition of recruitment to payroll so we added onboarding and recruiting. So I think it actually went payroll onboarding and then recruiting. And we just found the ease of use in the sharing of data to be so helpful. Prior to that it was so clunky and inconsistent and led to areas of mistakes, and errors. And then we recently added benefits to it. So every year practically, we're adding a new module of Paylocity and we find the service grade very practical, very user-friendly and it's been easy and fun to do.
  • What I like is the sharing of data. It actually lets us, it removes paperwork, especially for onboarding. And as soon as you offer them, give them a job offer, you can automate the process and they get started on that and the flow of documents, the data from the documentation flows well, I really like that. And going from one module to the next is very similar. So adding a module is something we've kind of already done and it picks up the data and places it reduces redundancy, which is wonderful and it kind of does it all the same way. It's very, very friendly to use. It's not complicated, so it makes it really nice. So data sharing is probably number one and ease of transition is really nice. Also, we just started the recruitment piece and removed a software from a third party that we'd used for about six years and it was day and night. The Paylocity understood the process so much better than this third party that only sells recruitment software. So I was impressed with that.
  • Probably what I've heard the most, and I'm on it probably the least of all of our users, I am more involved in the planning, but what I hear is they'd like to see like improvement maybe in some of the customization. Maybe we can customize some of the reports. I think in recruitment we're able to do some of our offer letters, but maybe a little bit easier in the customization of the data. And then as always, HR employees always want more communication as do users. We always want more accessibility to the support service. When we get them, it's great, but sometimes it's a little bit of a delay.
I can only think of the well-suited. I do get the complaints and we have one particular person who's our payroll who normally starts with complaints. The best thing is that probably the best thing is just really the sharing of the data. I think that's kind of the best thing. I don't know improvement-wise, what you might want to do. I think it's good as it is really. So I don't have a whole lot of it to answer that for you.
Return to navigation