Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Litmus

Litmus

Overview

What is Litmus?

As a core component of an organization's marketing tech stack, Litmus allows users to create, personalize, test, review, and analyze every email sent.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Litmus review.

6 out of 10
February 15, 2024
Incentivized
We use Litmus to ensure that our emails render properly across all mailbox providers, mobile and tablet devices, and desktop screens. With …
Continue reading

Litmus is my hero

9 out of 10
February 05, 2024
Incentivized
Our team of developers uses Litmus to preview our email templates to determine how they will render in various email clients. It's also …
Continue reading

Litmus in Marketing

9 out of 10
February 03, 2024
Incentivized
We primarily only use Litmus to test the deliverability of our marketing emails. They do a great job identifying what is wrong and what …
Continue reading

Litmus- Good

8 out of 10
February 01, 2024
Incentivized
Currently, we utilize Litmus primarily for email development testing. It has seamlessly integrated into our workflow and has proven to be …
Continue reading

Litmus Review

9 out of 10
January 26, 2024
Incentivized
We design emails and Litmus helps us know how the email will look on different mail clients. We primarily use litmus for is checking our …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 16 features
  • Mobile optimization (286)
    9.3
    93%
  • Email Previews (280)
    9.2
    92%
  • Spam Testing (209)
    8.3
    83%
  • URL Validation (206)
    8.1
    81%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

1 video

Litmus Review: Litmus Provides Tracking To Allow Companies To Survey The Success Of Campaigns
03:59
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.litmus.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $99 per month
Return to navigation

Features

Email & Online Marketing

Using software to manage lists, send emails, automate email campaigns, and track results.

5.2
Avg 8.1

Reporting & Analytics

Users can report on and analyze usage, performance, ROI, and/or other metrics of success.

6.8
Avg 7.8

Pre-Send Testing

This set of features allows marketers to test out and preview various elements of their emails before sending out email campaigns. URL validation, inbox display, and email review are some of the activities included in pre-send testing.

8.5
Avg 8.5
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Litmus?

As a core component of an organization's marketing tech stack, Litmus allows users to create, personalize, test, review, and analyze every email sent. Too many companies are sending out broken emails without even knowing it, missing the deeper insights needed to really improve results, and struggling to personalize emails at scale.


Litmus aims to give users a better way to build, test, and trust every outgoing message. Litmus states that currently over 700,000 marketing professionals, including 80% of the Fortune 100, are users of their platform. And the company boasts a customer satisfaction rating of 98%.

Litmus Features

Email & Online Marketing Features

  • Supported: WYSIWYG email editor
  • Supported: Dynamic content
  • Supported: Ability to test dynamic content
  • Supported: Mobile optimization
  • Supported: Email deliverability reporting

Reporting & Analytics Features

  • Supported: Standard reports
  • Supported: Custom reports

Pre-Send Testing Features

  • Supported: URL Validation
  • Supported: Link Tracking
  • Supported: Spam Testing
  • Supported: Email Previews
  • Supported: Assign Reviewers
  • Supported: Email Version Control
  • Supported: Task Lists
  • Supported: Review Status Updates

Litmus Videos

Litmus Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

As a core component of an organization's marketing tech stack, Litmus allows users to create, personalize, test, review, and analyze every email sent.

Litmus starts at $99.

Email on Acid, Everest (Return Path + 250ok), and Movable Ink are common alternatives for Litmus.

Reviewers rate Mobile optimization highest, with a score of 9.3.

The most common users of Litmus are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(488)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 305)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
February 19, 2024

A must have email tool.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Litmus helps BookBaby ensure our emails look good and work properly on different email apps and devices. We send various emails like newsletters, promos, and welcome email series, so it's important that everything looks right on platforms like Gmail, Outlook, and mobile. Litmus also gives BookBaby info about how well their emails are doing and validates the email addresses. With this tool we can see things like how many people open our emails, click on links, and make purchases. This helps us make improvements for future emails, testing templates, designs, and copy.
  • Testing and optimization.
  • Analytics
  • Friendly interface.
  • Better pricing.
  • Connection with Figma.
  • Connection with our CRM.
See my previous answer.
February 15, 2024

Litmus review.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Litmus to ensure that our emails render properly across all mailbox providers, mobile and tablet devices, and desktop screens. With that, we are able to easily edit the HTML if the email needs an edit or two. Additionally, it is very helpful to see how subject lines and preheader texts render on each mobile device and app. It's so helpful to be able to see all views in one spot.
  • View, edit, and assure HTML is rendering properly.
  • Test subject lines and preheader texts.
  • An abundance of online resources.
  • The online navigation is not as straightforward as I'd personally like. Even though I've used Litmus to test subject lines and preheader texts, I often times forget how to navigate to that part of the website. I.e., It's not straightforward.
It is nice to be able to double-check the HTML code easily. However, that being said, once we have the template structure and modules coded and rendered, we often do not feel that Litmus is as helpful because we have already verified that the HTML is functioning as intended.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Emails play an important part of the business. Our team use Litmus on a daily basis to preview our email rendering on various devices, to check alt text as well as to track changes on recurring emails with Litmus Guardian. Litmus helps us ensure standardization, consistency and excellency across all of our emails. The platform is also quite user friendly and allows us to share the preview links to external partners, allowing ease in cross-functional collaboration in email development.
  • Provides details in various components of the emails that cannot be easily checked (e.g. alt text, hidden preheated, rendering on edge-case devices)
  • Platform is easy to navigate
  • Continuous development e.g. addition of color-friendly view, Litmus Guardian, etc.
  • Previews sometimes don't show the whole email/ are blank since the snapshots were taken too early.
  • More Android devices in the preview section
  • Ability to automatically group emails within a folder based on send date
Litmus is one of the best options to use for email QA. However, if your email does not have various design components and complex layouts (for example, email only contains simple text blocks and images), it is definitely not worth using Litmus. Litmus is also quite expensive so would only recommend it for businesses that can utilize the tool more frequently and also have a more complex email layout.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Litmus to check that my emails are rendering correctly in all browsers and on all devices. Additionally, I use Litmus to edit the template code and confirm that my changes have not broken anything. Litmus addresses being able to test emails on devices that my team does not use but that our customers will still receive emails on. I use Litmus anytime I am altering an email template and also periodically to test that current templates have not broken due to system updates.
  • Email Template Previews and QA
  • Email Template Building
  • Preview and QA testing is outdated for Android devices
  • Preview and QA testing is not available for the newer iOS devices
  • Preview and QA testing is not accurate for Microsoft desktop devices
  • It takes so long for Preview and QA testing to load. I would love the load speed to improve
Litmus is well suited for general QA testing on old email templates but when building email templates from scratch, Litmus is not 100% reliable. For instance, it sometimes shows a code break in testing but in the live version does not. This is confusing and makes trusting Litmus harder.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Litmus for email tracking and analytics. As well as testing possible new features to make our emails stand out above the rest. To make sure they meet accessibility standards as well as be readable in a variety of different desktop and mobile email clients, whether it be a dedicated app or through the web.
  • Email tracking
  • Testing experimental features of emails
  • Coding HTML emails
  • Litmus inbox testing is a bit slow, and not receiving emails sometimes
Coding and testing new emails to make sure they work well with a variety of different email clients. Whether those clients are on desktop, mobile, or web, so your emails can be read by just about everyone. As well as trying out some of their experimental features that might help boost your own emails.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it to preview emails built in our platform. This allows us to test how emails render across multiple email clients in one tidy area in Litmus. It's been invaluable in perfecting our email campaigns to display properly across all email clients. The link testing feature has also been a great tool to easily check to make sure all links are working as they should. Highly recommend this product for any level of email marketer.
  • Previews across different email clients
  • Provides important delivery recommendations
  • Granular feedback suggestions
  • Builder tools to troubleshoot issues
  • The preview interface is clunky
  • No ability to see real time updates
  • Lacks all versions of email rendering clients/ios
Litmus is a valuable tool for new coders looking to efficiently check inbox experience across multiple email clients. It has a number of features that my organization has not yet utilized and we are looking forward to deploying these features as we grow and expand our marketing efforts.
February 05, 2024

Litmus Email review

Alan Bradford | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Litmus as the final QA and approval tool for final emails. These emails require stakeholder sign off for content, creative and content sign off and technical sign off. This occurs after emails are fully code complete by our agency partners. Any suggested changes are tracked, checked off, and logged before send the email to production.
  • Rendering completed HTML in a variety of key formats
  • granular feedback suggestions
  • builder tools to troubleshoot in detail
  • Direct interactions with ESP like Marketo (rather than sending email)
Where ESPs and Marketing Automation platforms are excellently placed for deployment and programming, their internal build tools are often lacking. They are unable to keep pace due to large numbers of dependent systems. Litmus is smaller and more nimble, able to add features at a quicker pace. It can specialize in that rendered review space.
February 05, 2024

Litmus is my hero

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our team of developers uses Litmus to preview our email templates to determine how they will render in various email clients. It's also helpful for us to see how our message comes across in dark mode, both in iOS and in Android, mobile or desktop, as well as accessibility best practices.
  • Weekly newsletters with marketing trends
  • Dark mode preview
  • Rendering of emails between iOS and Android devices
  • I would like to see real time preview updates
  • More combinations of iOS versions with and without dark mode
  • Monthly newsletter
Best suited for previewing, testing, and rendering specific email templates, especially if the design is new. It saves time and effort to see all the combinations at once instead of sending out multiple tests to cover our customer bases.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Litmus to facilitate email tracking, as well as using some of its experimental features in future emails to see if people interact with them more. We also use Litmus to test and help identify any issues that arise in different email clients, and work to mitigate said issues, that way making sure that all users can have the best email experience, whether on mobile or desktop.
  • Coding HTML emails. Coding has never been so easier, specially being able to see how the email will look in different email clients, being able to identify issues, and finding ways to work around them.
  • Email tracking for analytics. Being able to see the data in a simple and understanding way without being confused as to what is what.
  • Support. They have a great support team in case any issues or errors are encountered. Even asking them simple questions can lead to great answers that you wouldn't expect.
  • In the Analyze section. A button to create new tracking codes off the bat would be great, without having to go into the tracking code manager first.
Email tracking for Analytics, its great, simple to read and understand, as well as the coding of emails for testing against different email clients. Helps in finding any accessibility issues that might arise, as well as other problems or challenges that some email clients put up. The best part being a live editor helps in seeing your changes right away.
February 05, 2024

My experience with Litmus

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Litmus to check the visualization of the emails (and their different versions) that we sent to our customers. It helps us understand if there are some modules that are not showing properly or if a mail system has different requirements that our email must comply. Our main goal is to standardize the content of the email across different mail systems.
  • Visualization of mails across different systems
  • Watch different versions of the mail
  • Modify the code and watch the changes immediately
  • Access the documentation
  • Add more details on the tasks of an email
  • It would be nice to have the option of sending an email from the preview section
A well suited scenario is when you need to see different versions of the email, because it helps you notice the changes across the different versions
February 03, 2024

Litmus in Marketing

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We primarily only use Litmus to test the deliverability of our marketing emails. They do a great job identifying what is wrong and what needs to be done to fix those mistakes. Although sometimes the suggestions can be vague. They have a great support team that can assist, which I have used multiple times.
  • Reviewing deliverability of your emails
  • Providing a detailed blog on what's happening in the email world
  • Organizing your spam test for you to easily reference in the future
  • I'm not sure what I can do with litmus outside of email testing
  • They have an email builder I believe. How does that support the ESP I'm currently using. Is it only HTML based?
  • What services does Litmus offer? What am I paying for outside of deliverability checks.
Like I said we only use it for checking the deliverability of our marketing emails. We use Litmus on every email we send out and keep a record on how our brands are doing. That's the only specific scenario we use Litmus for.
February 01, 2024

Litmus- Good

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Currently, we utilize Litmus primarily for email development testing. It has seamlessly integrated into our workflow and has proven to be reliable given our current workload. We're excited about exploring additional features within the program as it offers robust resources and tools that extend beyond our current business requirements.
  • Litmus excels in providing comprehensive email testing capabilities,
  • Previews across various email clients and devices, spam testing, and link validation.
  • its analytics feature offers valuable insights into email performance, such as open rates and click-through rates, enabling us to optimize our campaigns effectively.
  • At this point I don't have any feedback in this area.
  • I need to further work into it.
Litmus is well-suited for scenarios involving email testing, rendering, and enhancing email deliverability. It's particularly effective in ensuring emails are displayed correctly across different devices and email clients. However, it may be less appropriate for tasks outside of email testing and analytics, as its primary focus is on email-related functions.
January 26, 2024

Litmus Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We design emails and Litmus helps us know how the email will look on different mail clients. We primarily use litmus for is checking our html on Outlook and Gmail since they can render differently than we expect
  • Easy to understand and use. It's intuitive how to use the product.
  • Completes the renders quickly. Instant feedback helps a lot.
  • I like how we can save the images of the renders to show to team members.
  • I think it is a bit pricy for our use case. We don't need all the features, wish there was more flexible pricing. I cannot think of other cons. Mostly because we only use it for pasting in HTML and looking at renders.
Litmus is well suited for testing if email renders look good. I only use it for this specific use case, so I am not familiar with the other features.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
In our organization, Litmus plays a pivotal role in the final quality assurance and testing phases of our email marketing campaigns. It efficiently addresses business challenges by offering a streamlined, quick, and reliable solution, ensuring that our email content functions seamlessly across diverse Email Service Providers (ESPs). Previously encountering clunkiness with other programs, Litmus has proven invaluable in expediting our testing process, providing comprehensive checks for elements like images, links, and responsive design. Its user-friendly interface and ability to preview emails on different devices contribute to a smoother workflow, ultimately enhancing the visual consistency and effectiveness of our campaigns. Litmus has become an indispensable tool, allowing us to meet tight deadlines and deliver a consistently positive user experience across various ESPs.
  • Display emails on different ESP in a quick and organised way.
  • App integration for easy checking.
  • Clear tick box.
  • It would be great if there was an integration where we could make necessary changes in Litmus and update Klaviyo.
  • A better understanding of ways to optimize - things may be good as is, but what are ways that we can improve it for a better-sending reputation?
  • Sometimes the app in Chrome is clunky.
Litmus proves highly effective in scenarios demanding thorough and swift testing of diverse and visually intricate email campaigns, particularly in cross-platform environments where consistent rendering across various ESPs and devices is essential. Its quick and reliable testing capabilities make it well-suited for last-minute QA checks, ensuring campaigns meet tight deadlines. Litmus excels in verifying responsive design, contributing to a positive user experience. Additionally, its user-friendly interface facilitates collaborative workflows, making it ideal for our agency with multiple stakeholders involved in the email marketing process. However, for smaller organizations with budget constraints or those with simpler, less frequent email campaigns, Litmus may be perceived as overly comprehensive, potentially making it less appropriate in such scenarios.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Litmus is our main email verification QA platform. With Litmus we are able to quickly QA our emails across 35+ email clients and devices. Litmus provides a quick checklist and recommendation on how we can improve our email layout and deliverability. We can easily customize our default client list to add or remove selections in the settings tab at any time. Also, we gather and review key performance metrics such as engagement time (read, skim, glance), dark mode usage such using Litmus Analytics.
  • Email QA and verification at a reasonable price
  • Alerts and recommendations on email performance and deliverability
  • Basic email analytics
  • The Litmus support team is very knowledgeable and great to work with.
  • They are well established in the industry.
  • Email analytics - There is confusion about what's included in their reports. Specifically, what Litmus can report on and what data points we can trust.
  • Training - Offering a series of videos that explains the tool (benefits and limitations)
  • Email analytics - being able to review metrics by merge tag within the Litmus platform. At the moment, we have to download the report and manipulate it in Excel or Google Sheet.
Litmus is probably one of the best email QA tools. With our ESP, we have a built in email QA tool but it is not nearly as sophisticated (or trustworthy) as Litmus. And customer service - I have never had a bad experience with Litmus. Their support team is helpful and very knowledgable. And, the Litmus Live email conference was one of the best conferences, I've ever attended.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Litmus is vital for testing and reviewing our emails and marketing sends as they will appear in various email clients. It takes the guesswork out of how an email will look across multiple devices and screens.
  • Client Preview.
  • Email Editing and Review.
  • Testing
  • Sometimes the client previews may not be 100% accurate.
When crafting marketing messages and troubleshooting email display issues, Litmus is vital for testing across multiple devices, email clients, screen sizes, and settings.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I work for an email marketing company, and email coding can be read differently depending on the email client and device it is received on. Litmus helps us and the customer to be able to verify that the email will display correctly and professionally across all the devices and email clients that it is sent to.
  • Allows us to verify the display of emails across email clients.
  • Makes it simple to check an email across devices without owning those devices.
  • Allows our customers to check this themselves on their end, increasing our productivity.
  • Allow adjustment based on DPI.
Litmus is well suited for both marketing companies that want to support their customers and provide value to their services, as well as business owners, both small and large, who want to verify that the marketing campaigns they are sending to their potential and current customers are coming through professionally and correctly.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Litmus for emails. It's primordial tool to ensure our emails delivery quality and gain of time
  • Check links
  • check image size
  • collaborative tool
  • check for code
  • rendering in different devices
  • price
- Litmus well suited when you need to test your email template on multiple devices
- Litmus well suited when you have a different collaborators to work on email validation
-Litmus is well suited when you don not have enough coding/html skills
- Litmus less appropriate when you use always the same email template and that is very simple
Flavio Mauri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Litmus is well integrated with our platform of choice, Salesforce. That makes it very easy to use. The tests also render pretty quick most times, so that's also great, we can iterate quickly. We had representatives guiding us with some ad-hoc training, which was helpful. Must admit we use it to its most basic functionality, only a couple times we used the website which offers more functionalities.

The negative thing I've found is that it doesn't seem we can decide ourselves what platforms to render, so there's lot of repetition and some cases missing. Not sure if is up to managers to adjust or some setting I haven't found.
  • Speed of renders
  • Number of platforms available
  • Allowing user to choose which tests to perform
Already explained in previous step
October 13, 2023

Litmus Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it to test newsletter sent via SFMC Automation
  • Help us debug newletter problem in particular platform (e.g. gmail) Allows us to make minor changes in HTML version without the need to make another email sent
  • Maybe allow us to dynamically move div around like scratch Sometime get emails, sometime doesn't get emails would be nice to create sub-branch of email based on changes made in Litmus rather than SFMC
Testing new newsletter and see if it's compatible with all platform
October 10, 2023

Litmus Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Test email rendering against the different devices
  • preview of emails for different client devices
  • look at the tracking analytics section, some of the data do not populate or do not match with other details. the error/warning messages can be more detailed
Well suited for testing email rendering to get an idea what the customers would see based on their device.
October 09, 2023

Litmus Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Primarily integrated into a quick review of emails by the creative team in SFMC integration. Use it to test one-off designs. Use it for high-level analytics when troubleshooting performance or inbox placement.
  • When there is organizational bandwidth, does give a comprehensive view of real-time inbox visuals. Issue is the organization only proofs within their eco-system. :/ 2) Quick way to adjust and correct code on the fly and to see real-time results. 3) Easy to insert analytics code into emails according to ESPs.
  • Not really Litmus' issue, however adoption is a problem. That's more of an organizational issue, I imagine. However, Creative doesn't like using it. They're not coders and they resist additional steps. 2) Analytics reporting -- 3) Really want to be able to have an accureate report on opens and clicks with all proof of delivery/bot activity removed. No platform seems to be able to deliver this accurately. Not just a Litmus issue.
Touched on this above -- whenever I, as an experienced coder, need to make edits to Creative's designs or uses, I can do so quickly and see the real time impact. That really is where Litmus shines. However, we don't use net-new designs every time. And, getting approval for expenditure in the future will be a tough sell due to enterprise cost ($26k).
October 09, 2023

Litmus Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Amending existing html templates
  • Nice layout easy proof/comments/sharing feature easy code editing
  • No auto-save - always forget to press save after every edit bugs if open in more than one tab - shows an old version (very confusing) subject line and pre-header aren't correct in proof mode
Great for editing existing templates - can't speak to building from scratch inside of Litmus. Version control would be a great add.
October 09, 2023

Litmus Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our ESP doesn't have anyway to account for the inflated opens from ISP privacy policies such as Apple MPP. We use Litmus to help adjust those impacted engagement rates to get a more accurate picture of engagement. The rendering features help make sure that the email renders appropriately no matter what ISP the end user is using.
  • Email renderings - reliable and accurate renderings that are customizable to the platforms your subscribers use most. 2. Adjusted open tracking - Gives a better idea of how many real opens your email(s) have. 3. Proofing - Allowing feedback tracking and comments in one place, completely organized.
  • Put proofing back into all subscription levels of Litmus. Many email teams are small enough already and taking this out for lower level subscriptions just puts more burden and handicaps back on those small teams. Super disappointing when this happened. 2. Name analytics tracking name the same as the email name or at least provide the option to link. It seems like a small thing but when you have to copy and past the name of the email into the name of the analytics for the same email, it's redundant and the time adds up. 3. Email builder is clunky and hard to use for teams who don't have coders employed. This is a huge miss to help teams be more agile and find more value in the platform.
I think pretty much every email team or marketing team that sends email can benefit from Litmus - regardless of size. The only thing it doesn't do it deliverability insights though it does have a spam analyzer. It's not that sophisticated however. If you're a data-driven team, you can even configure to export even more subscriber insights.
October 09, 2023

Litmus Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Litmus mainly to test new emails for marketing campaigns. Main issues we adress is the reputation and the correct rendering of the email in various ESPs and devices.
  • Great variety of ESPs and their versions to render emails Strong preview and QA feature which allows to quickly identify bigger issues Up to date content and plenty of tutorials with everything email Best in class
  • Expensive for the number of previews it includes UI can be confusing Limited templates
ESPs previews is definitely its strongest spot whilst email coding probably its weakest
Return to navigation