Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Dropbox

Dropbox

Overview

What is Dropbox?

Dropbox is a cloud storage solution, equipped with features that help users to save time, improve productivity, and collaborate with others. Users can edit PDFs, share videos, sign documents, and collaborate with stakeholders without leaving Dropbox.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Dropbox Review

10 out of 10
June 29, 2024
Incentivized
A central place for multiple sales and marketing individuals to access documents and share- large heavy graphic decks. Dropbox is also …
Continue reading

I love Dropbox!

9 out of 10
June 26, 2024
Incentivized
We use dropbox to store customer information, designs, contracts, etc. We are able to share documents with people throughout our …
Continue reading

You can trust Dropbox

8 out of 10
June 25, 2024
Incentivized
We use drop box for our 800+ fulltime and student employees to backup University data from development to HR. Dropbox is vital for when a …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 13 features
  • Reliability (801)
    8.2
    82%
  • File organization (805)
    8.0
    80%
  • Access control (796)
    7.4
    74%
  • File search (824)
    7.4
    74%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

3 videos

Dropbox has the Flexibility to Serve a Variety of Needs Across Platforms
04:00
A User Review: Years Later, Dropbox Still Makes Life Easier
03:43
Dropbox Business Review: Allows Design Business To Complete Quick & Simple File Sharing
03:22
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Plus

$9.99

Cloud
per month

Essentials

$18

Cloud
per month

Business

$20

Cloud
per month per user

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Dropbox - Overview

Navattic
Return to navigation

Features

File Sharing & Management

Features that allow collaborators to view, work on, and organize files.

7.7
Avg 8.4

Cloud Storage Security & Administration

Features related to security and administration for cloud storage platforms

7.6
Avg 8.7

Cloud Storage Platform

Features around the functionality of the cloud storage platform.

7.9
Avg 8.6
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Dropbox?

Dropbox is a cloud storage system that helps users to work efficiently with teammates and clients, stay in sync on projects, and keep company data safe. It features:

• Simplified organization
• Anytime access: It provides anytime access to files and photos on desktop, mobile, or web.
• Sharing: Dropbox allows users to share files of any size with just a link.
• Security: Advanced data protection and end-to-end encryption safeguards that protects data helps users to meet compliance and privacy standards.

Dropbox Screenshots

Screenshot of the action bar, that sits across the browser page can be used to record the screen, edit PDFs, upload files, create folders, get signatures, or send and track documents.Screenshot of Dropbox Replay, that lets collaborators leave frame-accurate feedback and markups directly on project files.Screenshot of Dropbox Capture, which can be used to take screen recordings, screenshots, and GIFs with one click and share them with a link.Screenshot of the interface where Dropbox lets users upload, edit, send, and sign PDFs in one place.

Dropbox Video

Dropbox is one of the of the most popular cloud storage options and is popular with businesses of all sizes across many different industries. We have aggregated some of the 400+ Dropbox reviews on TrustRadius and determined what the software’s most popular features are, and w...
 Show More

Dropbox Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Dropbox is a cloud storage solution, equipped with features that help users to save time, improve productivity, and collaborate with others. Users can edit PDFs, share videos, sign documents, and collaborate with stakeholders without leaving Dropbox.

Box, ShareFile, and Doxo are common alternatives for Dropbox.

Reviewers rate Reliability highest, with a score of 8.2.

The most common users of Dropbox are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(4118)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 875)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Julia Walsh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are a design agency. We keep all of our files in Dropbox. We are able to not take up all of the space on our computers with our projects thanks to Dropbox and we can share our projects with other designers, contractors and clients when needed. We work collaboratively so having Dropbox lets one designer work on something and another one can access it and pick back up where they left off.
  • Sharing files
  • Organizing files
  • Being able to put set work as "Online-Only" or "Available Offline" when needed
  • Wish there was a better way to find the largest files to make them online-only when needing more space
  • Wish they was a bit more customization to differentiate folders
  • Sometimes it stalls when I try to make files "Online-Only"
Dropbox is perfect for us. As a design agency, we create so many files. We have folders for each client and multiple subfolders for the type or work we do for the clients.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Dropbox every day at work to store documents but more importantly for sharing documents securely. We also use when multiple people are working on the same document to maintain version control.
  • Storage
  • Security
  • Sharing
  • Home page online has too much suggested data instead of showing what I was most recently working on.
  • It would be great if editing a document in Dropbox was easier
  • I'd like the process of saving a document and sharing a link to be more streamlined
  • On a Mac, the Dropbox extension doesn't always refresh
I am able to do everything I need for document storage, sharing and editing with Dropbox. I have some small suggestions for things that could be better but they are minor. It would also be great if Dropbox was more like an apple product where non-technical people weren't intimidated to use it. I see this at work often where people are reluctant to use it because the process of saving and sharing isn't intuitive or is scary to people who are low tech.
Gregory R Sylvain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Dropbox is our marketing image library for managing all our images and the marketing projects that encompass those images. This gives us a central storage of all images and allows us to track who accesses the image and any changes that are made. It also allows us to distribute access to partners and contracted marketing specialists!
  • Easy to access from the web
  • User interface is clean and easy to navigate
  • Uploading is simple and downloading is just as simple
  • limiting access is easy to configure
  • Ordering file structure is clean and simple as well
  • Easy to manage any library
  • File editing inside Dropbox would be nice
  • Color Coding Files would be nice
  • A more intuitive search option would help
A common document library, a common image library, a contracts warehouse, a project repository pre-phase, during project and at completion! By being able to manage all of these common business needs in one web-based platform is a true lifesaver. Because it's web based, the only drawback would be companies with very restrictive cyber security or those concerned about that.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Dropbox is used for all our cloud storage. It is a cheap and convenient option for all of our employees to access and edit the same files and stay in the loop with everything. It also enables us to give access to certain files to certain people, which is very nice.
  • Clean file layout
  • cloud storage
  • ability to send web links to files
It's perfect for a small business for cloud storage and access at a low price. Can access via phone app anytime and is always synced.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Dropbox has helped me so much when clients need to send large files to me or others. It helps organize files without the need for a constant email back and forth. Instead, we upload them into unique folders on Dropbox. These unique folders can be organized by category to add additional organization.
  • Share photos
  • Share documents
  • Share videos
  • Organize files
  • Being more user-friendly
  • More ability to view data on-the-go
  • Make downloading data easier
  • Less email back and forth
If someone needs to send large quantities of data it's helpful. If a client needs video editing on a video, it's not helpful. Instead of a client emailing videos or photos over multiple emails, Dropbox does the organization for us. We don't need to worry about file sizes over email.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Dropbox for 2 companies. 1: Mostly used to share and store information with our financial advisor, and store tons of company documents and records. 2: Mostly used to store day-to-day history of product development, with some items shared across teams. Dropbox addresses the ability to very easily share documents across teams, with good controls over who has access to certain documents/folders, and who doesn't. I use the product every single day, and I love how well it integrates with Finder on Mac, so folders are always very easily accessible (which is much easier than using the web version IMO).
  • Uploads and updates files quickly across all devices (I use it on a desktop, laptop, and my mobile device).
  • I love the easy integration with Finder on Mac, so all folders are easily accessible right from your Finder. No need to ever login to the web version of Dropbox (except for to manage user access).
  • Love that you can easily drag & drop all file types, and easily rename them within the Finder.
  • Dropbox on web (which I very rarely use for this reason), makes it difficult to copy/paste the names of files from the breadcrumb menu, and renaming files is kind of a pain too. Just takes longer than it needs to. It's usually easier to just delete the file, rename it from my Mac desktop, and re-upload it.
  • I used to use both a Mac (while home) and a PC (while traveling) for work. My only quip with file access on PC is that Mac allows quotations (" ") in file names, but PC version does not. I don't know that this is a problem with Dropbox itself, or just a limitation of Windows PC? But it's annoying because if you have a file named:
  • xx.xx File Name "use this file name in quickbooks" on Dropbox from your Mac, no one using a PC will be able to see it in their corresponding Dropbox folder.
  • Since I use Dropbox for 2 different companies (and thus 2 separate paid Dropbox accounts), this creates an issue where both Dropbox accounts cannot be connected to the same Mac Finder. The only workaround I could come up with is having a separate "Mac User" for each company, and connecting Dropbox to Finder within each user's login account. This means I have to logout of my Mac User for Company 1 every time I want to access files from Company 2 on Finder, OR remain logged in as a Mac User on Company 1, but revert to using Dropbox web for Company 2, which is a much more cumbersome task. If Dropbox could solve for this issue, and allow me to access BOTH paid Dropbox accounts from the same Mac User's Finder window, my rating would change to a perfect 10!
If you need to store large files (in size or # of files) in the cloud, and Google Drive just isn't doing the trick, I 100% recommend Dropbox to anyone. Even the free version (last I checked) gives a decent amount of storage. I have 2 biz accounts, and my husband has a personal account to store videos for his Youtube channel since his phone's storage is too full for such large file sizes. Highly recommend!
June 29, 2024

Dropbox Review

Dorene Bair | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
A central place for multiple sales and marketing individuals to access documents and share- large heavy graphic decks. Dropbox is also more universal for sharing documents with external clients as well. It makes it easier to monitor changes and versions of updated information for all individuals accessing general information as well as customized work by category, vertical or client.
  • Upload
  • Share
  • Catalog
  • record when documents are opened and shared like other services can
  • Automated categorization using AI intel by document
  • Editing and uploading versions
As a new member to an organization having access to previous and current work for the company and individual sales people , provides an archive and history for one to look back on as a central place. Less than optimal is that there is no notification if a file is shared outside the organization what the activity is
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Dropbox for file storage - it allows us to store large volume and size files in a well-organized, easy to navigate environment where all users have access. I appreciate the preview function which makes it easy to quickly view videos or design files (much of our usage) without having to download the file and open in the corresponding program.
  • Preview pane - quickly loads
  • Easy to navigate
  • Easy to send links externally and alter permissions
  • Starred or pinned folders easier to find
  • Periodic outages
  • Automatic permission setting on links
Dropbox is great to share large files, especially video and design files, quickly with both internal colleagues and external partners. I also appreciate the fact that I can make crop/trim edits to videos right within the interface, which helps immensely as someone who is not trained in video editing and often just needs a quick update.
June 27, 2024

Unpacking Dropbox.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I really appreciate the flexibility of using Dropbox for my department and sharing files securely outside of my organization. I like that I can keep all my projects in one place and know that files will stay secure and synced. Navigating between my own folders and company folders is a breeze as well. (Box> cloud!).
  • File syncing and backup.
  • Folder organization.
  • Sharing files outside of the organization.
  • Dropbox sometimes goes down for me at random times.
  • Make cloud / desktop file syncing clear and even easier to use at a glance.
  • Make external folder sharing easier to share with a link.
It works very well for my particular role in book design, where I manage multiple projects simultaneously and need to link to hundreds of images nested within other folders. At times, though, it seems my computer folders will change which files are kept in the cloud vs. my desktop.
June 26, 2024

I love Dropbox!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use dropbox to store customer information, designs, contracts, etc. We are able to share documents with people throughout our organization, and limit who can see certain files. Our business could not run without Dropbox. Our installers, service workers, and sales people are able to view and upload documents from the road, which keeps our business running smoothly.
  • Security
  • Giving employees different levels of access.
  • We are able to send documents for signature.
  • I would love to be able to organize folders in a different order besides alphabetically.
  • I would like more options as far as limiting employee access to folders.
  • I wish dropbox didn't cache files to my C:Drive.
Secure, easy to use, great functions. Dropbox is well suited for our Solar Install and Service company. I think it would work well for all business types where multiple people need access to the same files in different locations.
We don't use Dropbox for our 1099 employees because we don't want them to have access to other files within our organization. We have set some up with limitations, but usually it's easier to just have them email the files.
June 26, 2024

Dropbox Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Dropbox to store, share and edit files. We are a real estate firm and recently created our own team. We have the a dropbox account and have full access on who can edit and access files etc. It is so convenient.

Our team consists of Real Estate agents, Marketing assistant and an Executive assistant.

  • Easy to share files
  • Easy to sort files
  • Easy to edit documents in Dropbox itself
  • Easy to add new items on desktops
  • Easy to share real-time links from desktops instead of going into Dropbox itself.
  • An option to create groups with in dropbox with different levels of access
  • Make it more easy to share files etc. with outside trusted members without giving special permission each time
The storage is amazing!
Angela Sommerfeld | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is a document storage tool and allows clients and team members to access our product. We create and implement integrated health, safety, environment and quality management systems for high risk businesses and this helps us to share, store, edit, work closely within our own team but also invite people outside of our team (clients) to watch as their system comes together.
  • Integrated with Mac really well
  • Reliability
  • Accessibility
  • Easy to use
  • Cache or sync problems
  • Clunky on a windows machine when you have to download doucments
Sometimes it is frustrating when we have 2 people using the same set of documents. but the reliability of the platform is brilliant. I dont think it would be for a large group of people using the same documents. the syncing would make it difficult.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Dropbox for all of my Business and personal files. It provides centralized access for all of my devices, including my PC, iPad, and iPhone. Dropbox provides easy access for my wife to our important shared files. Dropbox provides easy restoration in case of Ransomware based on personal experience. I know this from experience since we were the victims of a Cyber Attack.
  • Easy Access to files
  • Easy restoration from Ransomware
  • Access from a variety of platforms
  • Access for me and my wife
  • Easier sharing with family & business associates
  • Stronger integration with iOS platforms
  • Easier setup to replicate from devices
Dropbox is well suited for access from a variety of platforms. You can access your Dropbox files from Windows, iOS and Android platforms.
Dropbox is excellent at file recovery from IT disasters like Ransomware, and computer hard drive failures.
Dropbox is not as suited for sharing with family members and business associates as Microsoft's OneDrive.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use drop box for our 800+ fulltime and student employees to backup University data from development to HR. Dropbox is vital for when a user needs to backup data to switch into a new machine, or access files on the go.
  • Quick
  • Ease of use
  • Well know name recognition
  • Unlimited space or larger available amounts of space
Dropbox does well in cases where we are migrating a user to a new machine and they need to access all save files from a previous machine
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
In our organization, Dropbox serves as a critical tool for file storage, sharing, and collaboration, addressing several business problems and improving workflow efficiency across various departments.
  • Storing of files
  • version control
  • activity monitoring
  • offline access
  • search capabilities incl advanced search
  • Improved commenting section
  • lower cost tier options
Well suited for client file sharing and ensuing controls are in place. Remote work and distributed teams it is beneficial versus some competitors like Google Drive, Organizations needing advanced workflow automation and Organizations with complex data residency requirements/regulated industries where it is less appropriate.
Amber Talmage | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Dropbox is such an amazing tool to share large or small files, keep track of everything, and easily send things outside of the organization as well. This allowed us to keep our seperate work files and phtoos as well as share within a group. Keeping organzed hasnt been easier! Couldnt work without it!
  • Keeping organized
  • Being able to share seamlessly
  • Sharing large files
  • Color coding
  • Password protection
  • Cross editing features
I love using dropbox, I use it for everything and I would recommend it to anyone and everyone!
June 25, 2024

Dropbox Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Use it to upload files such as songs, music videos, marketing plans, etc.
  • Organization of files
  • Ability to upload large files
  • Sharing files and links without issue and easy to access them
  • Better user interface on the website
  • explanation of all the different things you can do
  • easier to contact dropbox support like a live chat
Just in general very easy for organization. It isnt the best when trying to keep files safe but good for sharing.
June 25, 2024

Dropbox Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I personally use it for storage with varying levels of access and document reviews - we have PDF documents that need more collaborative reviews, and the comments section on dropbox does just that.
  • Tiered access
  • easy UI
  • Comments do not appear in the same place for each person
  • Taking people to Google Drive instead of dropbox for comments has caused problems
Mnoneleli Mlobeli | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The organization utilizes the Dropbox platform as a data repository platform. All our documents are saved on Dropbox. We also utilize the additional function of Dropbox sign, which makes it easier for us to track the progress of document signage.
  • Creation of Dropbox folders.
  • Document access control.
  • Online and offline document syncing abilities.
  • Online dropbox file search.
  • Housing one document into multiple folders.
  • Dropbox Sign multiple accounts packages.
  • Better functionality when integrated with MS Teams.
  • Better user experience when used on smartphones.
Dropbox is suitable for data saving and protection. However, it is less suitable for saving contracts, specifically when there are consultant contracts. It's cumbersome to save/duplicate contracts in different organizational hubs. It would be better if one document could be saved in one folder and housed under many different hub folders.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Dropbox to have shared access to any file from the organization. I personally use it to upload any flyers, videos, or photos I make/take as well as looking at previous years of event flyers and information. It's helpful to have access to it all in one place.
  • seems to be no cap on amount of data stored
  • can create lots of different sections with folders
  • can upload lots of different file types
  • finding things can be hard when looking for something specific if it's not organized
  • can be cumbersome to categorize each file for where you want it to go
The only reason for the low rating is that I am much more familiar with google drive. I feel like it's basically the same as Dropbox and is accessible to anyone with a google account, whereas you need a separate Dropbox account to be added to a shared 'drive' per say.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Dropbox is our data storage and backup solution. It makes it easy to have all our client files when we need them without having to worry about hard drive failures or scheduling routine backups. As a design agency that works in video as well as print, we work with fairly large file sizes. Keeping all those files on our local drives would quickly exhaust their capabilities, and having to back them up on external hard drives takes a lot of time we don't have. So it's convenient to be able to selectively sync the folders we need, then unsync once the project is over.
  • Selective sync files
  • Data storage
  • Video file reviews
  • Archive and retrieval of files
Best suited when you need access to a large number of files but have limited local storage. Dropbox is also useful when you need to share large files with other people. Whether a pdf or a video file.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it inside our design studio team. All projects are on Dropbox, and all work is done on it. We replaced using a proprietary server with Dropbox due to speed issues with the server when working from home. Unfortunately, Dropbox has had a bug for years now that requires every file to be manually synched from Mac Finder, whilst when we acquired the product, it would synchronize files automatically from third-party programs (Adobe Cloud). We are considering switching to Google Cloud, but the effort of changing many terabytes of data over has been a blocker.
  • Speed for home office.
  • Synching issue.
  • Too expensive.
  • Offboarding process and migration of files is a hassle.
It was better in the past. The price keeps increasing, but the old bugs have not been fixed.
June 20, 2024

Dropbox Eduardo.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I am an ophthalmologist researcher, and since I started using Dropbox for my research projects, everything has become so much easier, faster, organized, and efficient. I highly recommend it, especially for people working and collaborating with other people around the world. Everything is updated and organized, unlike sending emails with data and information that is hard to track and retrieve.
  • Organized data.
  • Collaborative work with others.
  • Storage of big amounts of images.
  • The connection between different accounts.
  • You should be able to unify personal and work accounts in one.
  • Easier command.
I was pushing a college in Israel to open a Dropbox account for our research project. It worked. Now, we work and use it for everything we have together.
June 20, 2024

Neel's Review.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
As a student at Ahmedabad University, I use Dropbox to store various files of varying sizes on Dropbox. The partnership of Dropbox with our University enables us to store up to 1 TB of files and folders for free, which makes our life a lot easier. Dropbox solves customers' problems, such as not needing to store everything in local storage and providing better facilities than their competitor(Google Drive, which gives limited storage for free), and that is what my scope of use case is.
  • Efficient storage solutions.
  • Seamless syncing of files with local storage.
  • Effortless deletion and retrieval of files.
As mentioned in the previous questions, Dropbox has made my life much easier by allowing easy file and folder storage access. I had a problem with my old laptop. Since I had been using it for years, it has hundreds of GB of data inside it, which can't be transferred using other cloud storage services free of cost either because of limited space or because they would ask to upgrade to premium plans to allow more storage. That is where Dropbox came in handy, as I could transfer files from my old laptop to my new laptop via Dropbox without any hassle.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Dropbox allows us to easily share project files among our team in real-time. With the option for keeping files online, it's great for storage without overloading our individual computers. It is also awesome for sharing large files with clients. We use Dropbox every day and I don't know what we ever did without it!
  • File Storage
  • File Sharing
  • Organization
  • File synching can be buggy
  • Automatic login doesn't always work
  • Browser version isn't as intuitive
File sharing is great but Dropbox doesn't allow multiple people to have the same file open at the same time.
Return to navigation