Skip to main content
TrustRadius
BambooHR

BambooHR

Starting at $250 per month
View Pricing

Overview

What is BambooHR?

BambooHR is an on-line human resources solution that provides onboarding, payroll, and benefits management. It also offers automated time-off management and employee self-service.

Read more
Recent Reviews

BambooHR is HUGE

10 out of 10
March 04, 2024
Incentivized
We use BambooHR for everything HR-related... time off request, sick days, company holiday scheduled, onboarding information, benefit …
Continue reading

Great HR product.

10 out of 10
February 29, 2024
Incentivized
We use BambooHR as our general HR software; we initiate onboarding (through Greenhouse integration) and offboarding as a place to keep …
Continue reading

BambooHR!

9 out of 10
February 29, 2024
Incentivized
It was used for employee info, PTO, reporting. I was not part of onboarding, so I don’t know what issues it addressed.
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 48 features
  • Update personal information (85)
    9.1
    91%
  • View job history (79)
    8.9
    89%
  • Employment history (78)
    8.8
    88%
  • Job profiles and administration (77)
    8.2
    82%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Core

$250

Cloud
per month

Pro

$250

Cloud
per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
    Optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.bamboohr.com/pricing/?utm_c…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $250 per month
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Integrating Boomr and BambooHR

YouTube

Product Overview of BambooHR Employee Records

YouTube

BambooHR to Active Directory Demo

YouTube

TRAXPayroll Demo - BambooHR Integration July 2014

YouTube

Product Overview of BambooHR Paid Time Off software

YouTube

How to Setup Paid Time Off Policies in BambooHR

YouTube
Return to navigation

Features

Human Resource Management

Organizing, tracking and providing instant access to critical employee data, job profiles, transfers, promotions, and benefits information.

8.1
Avg 7.8

Payroll Management

Provides for pay calculation and benefit plan administration, in addition to managing direct deposit, salary revisions and payroll tracking.

8
Avg 8.0

Leave and Attendance Management

Streamlines communication between HR and employees and facilitates efficient management of employee leave including requisitions, approvals, balance calculation, and annual carry-forward.

8.8
Avg 8.0

Employee Self Service

Employee portal allowing employees to view and update their personal information.

8.7
Avg 8.1

Asset Management

Maintaining a record of assets such as laptops, pagers, cell phones, etc. issued to employees. Record typically includes asset type, number, serial number and date of issuance.

7.8
Avg 7.8

HR Reporting

Pre-built and custom reports, and integration with external data.

7.9
Avg 7.6

Onboarding

Employee onboarding is the process of orienting new hires to the social and performance aspects of their jobs so that they are able to function in their new roles as quickly as possible.

8.7
Avg 7.9

Performance and Goals

Goal alignment is the practice of ensuring that all employees have clearly defined goals in support of the overall corporate strategy.

7.8
Avg 8.1

Performance Management

Performance management is the process of ensuring employees meet pre-determined objectives and goals through regular check-ins and appraisals.

7.5
Avg 7.9

Succession Planning

Succession planning is the identification and development of internal employees with the potential to fill key business leadership positions in the company.

6.1
Avg 7.9

Recruiting / ATS

Recruiting or Applicant Tracking Software is software used to manage the recruitment process electronically by handling job postings, applicant status, resume management, etc.

8.1
Avg 7.8
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is BambooHR?

BambooHR is an online HR system for small and medium-sized businesses. The cloud-based system offers integrated payroll, applicant tracking (ATS), onboarding tools, e-signatures, time-off tracking, and performance management, with reporting and a mobile app for employees. BambooHR simplifies HR data management to help HR teams become more effective, more efficient, and more human.

BambooHR Screenshots

Screenshot of BambooHR's Reporting

BambooHR Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android
Supported CountriesBambooHR supports any country worldwide
Supported LanguagesEnglish, French, German, Dutch, Portuguese, Spanish

Frequently Asked Questions

BambooHR is an on-line human resources solution that provides onboarding, payroll, and benefits management. It also offers automated time-off management and employee self-service.

BambooHR starts at $250.

Sage People, WebHR, and BiznusSoft HR are common alternatives for BambooHR.

Reviewers rate Benefit plan administration and Approval workflow and Update personal information highest, with a score of 9.1.

The most common users of BambooHR are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(341)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 92)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
BambooHR handles all our employee's data and tracking! This includes hiring, onboarding, evaluation, and offboarding. We'd be lost without this program as it allows managers to really manage their team member's accounts. As an HR department of one, I'm grateful to have a program to not only quickly help me solve issues, but also other members of the team.
  • Onboarding Task Management.
  • Integrates with other programs well.
  • Hold employees' documents and notes.
  • Easily requests promotions and raises.
  • Build some features out to better handle multi-business companies - like departments in "hiring".
  • Be a resource hub! Allow pictures and templates in announcements. Would help our communication to be centralized.
Well suited for employee documentation! Will hold and manage most HR areas. Must consider payroll integration. We went with Traxpayroll (owned by BambooHR) to help with this integration. This could not be used for all mass communications.
March 04, 2024

BambooHR is HUGE

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use BambooHR for everything HR-related... time off request, sick days, company holiday scheduled, onboarding information, benefit guides, company policies, etc. It also announces company new hires, work anniversaries, birthdays, etc.
  • Time off requests.
  • New hire onboarding information.
  • We have unlimited PTO but it still don't understand why it will say you're OOO over the weekends.
  • Mobile app is decent.
I think it's appropriate for companies that have remote offices and are growing quickly. An easy way for information to be shared across all offices. Not sure it's necessary for small teams but if it's in the budget, I'd recommend it.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We currently have the Advantage Plan and begin using BambooHR as our HRIS in Fall of 2023, then began using it for Payroll the first of 2024. We plan to implement the Pro Package later this year. It's much easier to use than ADP and very intuitive. We are excited to have the Form Signature Options and use it for on and off boarding as well as recruitment.
  • Excellent training videos.
  • Three ways to request help phone, chat or support ticket.
  • Intuitive - easy to find things and make changes.
  • Have a more robust report builder that has all the data as a filter.
  • Not all reports are able to be downloaded in different formats. I would prefer, csv, excel and PDF for all.
  • More options in the report builder to be able to customize your own reports instead of having to pay at least $200 for a simple report.
We are a small staff of 26 with three people maintaining different Features so it seems very easy to set-up and implement.

I'm not sure how it would work for a very large org.
March 01, 2024

Overall good product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use BambooHR to track all of our benefits and process payroll for 8 different companies. This software has improved our payroll process tremendously, we also use the software for time tracking and it allows employees to know at all times what their time off balances are without any confusion.
  • Payroll processing
  • Time tracking
  • Benefit tracking
  • We've had some issues with tax filings, not much but some
  • More reports
It is well suited for our human resource department and has provided transparency for payroll between them and the accounting department. We used to use Quickbooks for our entire process and BambooHR has been a great improvement. The implementation process was disappointing though, the customer service was not very helpful and we had to do most everything ourselves. That was in July 2022.
March 01, 2024

BambooHR is nice

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Employee documentation, job applications, onboarding, offboarding.
  • storing files
  • posting job applications
  • onboarding tasks
  • document signature template setups
BambooHR is good for companies where you're managing employee data and hiring. I don't think it would be needed within an organization that has less than 5-6 employees.
March 01, 2024

BambooHR review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use BambooHR for time off tracking, personal changes, training tracking considering performance measurement
  • time off
  • app is user friendly
  • customer service is helpful
  • you have no option to upload a picture in the drivers license field
  • you are making improvements on all the new features and seem to have abandoned the core product
We really have had a great experience with the time off tracking thanks to BambooHR. We do not utilize may of the buy up options as they are suited for our business
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
BambooHR is used at my organization to assist with employee onboarding, training organization, hiring via indeed, time off and PTO utilization, employee recognition, holidays, understanding who is off at what time, compensation rates, documents that are needing signature, and employee contact information. We use several features and just started in January but have truly enjoyed the efficiency thus far.
  • Time off
  • Onboarding
  • Hiring
  • Sending signatures in bulk
  • PTO dashboard
Hiring, and onboarding is super easy. Sending out signatures in bulk is a bit difficult
February 29, 2024

Great HR product.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use BambooHR as our general HR software; we initiate onboarding (through Greenhouse integration) and offboarding as a place to keep documents, route documents for signature, and time tracking. We also use it to document the start of the performance year as well as the end of a performance year. We also use it as a place to track various time off categories.
  • Time off category tracking.
  • Timesheets
  • Onboarding/offboarding steps.
  • Document/Signature workflows.
  • We use a different software to process payroll, a PEO.
  • There is no integration of these two softwares.
  • Allow approval of timesheets prior to closure of time period.
I love the workflows for documents and signatures. We use this quite often, such as for benefits requests, payroll deductions, etc. I also think it has a beautiful workflow for onboarding and offboarding steps and allows these to be customized by a group of employees. Report capabilities are also excellent.
February 29, 2024

BambooHR!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It was used for employee info, PTO, reporting. I was not part of onboarding, so I don’t know what issues it addressed.
  • PTO
  • Employee Info
  • Reporting
  • Location
  • N/A
I love the ease of submitting PTO, especially with the Slack integration. Also, I can view teams' PTO on the calendar, which is easy to view. I have also run department-specific reports to share with teams, and they generate very quickly, are easy to understand, and are saved for later review.
February 28, 2024

BambooHR review

Krista Molloy SPHR SHRM-SCP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use BambooHR as our HRIS. It serves as the central location for employee records, and as a repository for forms, documents, benefit information and more. We recently added the Performance Management module and the time tracking module. We wanted a "one stop shop" for all HR related "things" for ease of use.
  • Intuitive, so easy to use and navigate
  • Great support / service
  • Clean look and feel
  • Not as customizable as I would hope .. for example performance reviews.
  • Time tracking is not as robust or configurable as we hoped.
  • Org chart not very usable.
  • Job postings do not have a multi city option so I need to post the same job in four locations.
Works well for a small to medium sized company. Easy to implement and update. Report writing is easy to figure out.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use BambooHR to calculate holidays, see the organization structure, and see who is in and out for the day. It also tells us who joined recently and whose birthday it is. It's also used to send leave requests, and we get notified via email about the approvals; we also do performance reviews through this portal.
  • Organisation structure - simplified view.
  • Easy leave request.
  • Good to see who is on leave and who recently joined.
  • The org chart can be more clearly defined.
  • The performance review bar could be easier to find.
  • The birthdays are not a very useful feature.
BambooHR is useful in giving insight into the organization structure; if you want to see who is in a particular team or who you can reach out to in case someone is on leave, the team structure and the manager/ peers can be viewed easily. This feature is handy. I am unsure of how appropriate the birthday feature is. The whole organization may not want to know someone's birthday unless they are on your team.
February 24, 2024

BambooHR is AMAZING!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use BambooHR on a daily basis. All of our HR functions, reporting, payroll, time off, performance reviews, etc. are completed in BambooHR. Switching over to BambooHR has saved us so much time and more than that, energy! It is easy to use and they have amazing customer support. I would highly recommend BambooHR to anyone looking for a BETTER HRIS.
  • Customer Support
  • Payroll
  • Benefits via the App
  • Performance Reviews via the App
We really use BambooHR for almost all aspects of our business for HR. The only areas I can really see that they can improve in would be having the ability to do the benefits changes and open enrollment in the BambooHR app. This would be much easier for the employees as they sign up.
February 24, 2024

Fantastic System

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
To track time off, benefits, time in and out as well as other events and files.
  • Tracking PTO
  • Store important links
  • Clock in and out
  • You should not be able to edit your clock in and out.
This is a very useful tool day to day to track who will be in and out of the office, as well as when they arrive and leave. I do believe the edit function is not needed.
February 22, 2024

BambooHR Review

Thomas Baker, CFE, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
BambooHR is used as the primary HR function for the company and takes in all aspects of the HR process from interviews and hirings to changes in employee profiles and job changes within the company. The scope of the use case is the entire company as a whole using the platform.
  • Very user friendly and intuitive
  • A large and diverse set of HR features
  • Automated notifications for any changes made that need approval
  • Customer Service is almost non-existent and difficult to use
  • Searching for employee information can sometimes be cumbersome unless you have the exact search terms you need
  • I'd like to be able to integrate the system with other applications I use and it has been difficult/near impossible to set these up
BambooHR is very well-suited for a company who has seasoned veterans in their HR department who have seen many different scenarios and know the information they will need to complete the tasks/job assigned to them. This would be less appropriate for a smaller company that has many manuals processes and approvals that is not used to having to create their own reporting and files from the data.
Jennifer Hagen, SHRM-CP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I was in a small company that needed an HRIS that could manage time off, time tracking, and onboarding/offboarding. This software fit the bill exactly what I needed to manage my team. It helped consolidate many of my pain points and gave transparency to the employees so they could see their time off and manage their own time tracking. The solution was affordable and scaled nicely to what I needed. It worked closely with other solutions to provide benefits administration for when I needed it.
  • Time tracking.
  • Paid time off.
  • Onboarding.
  • Benefits administration.
  • Reporting.
  • Customization.
BambooHR is well suited for small companies. If you have more than 100 employees in your company you might want to look at a different solution. It has both add-on opportunities if you need benefits administration or other components that it doesn’t provide as an HRIS. As far as onboarding new employees, it makes it very simple and user-friendly for both the employer and the new employee.
MacKenzie Knoll | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Bamboo for SO much. Payroll, PTO, stored documents, etc. It works so well for our company as we navigate 4 sub-companies. It works really well for PTO requests and accrual. I never have to try and remember complicated information regarding that which is super nice.
  • PTO
  • Payroll
  • Employee Directory
  • Docusign stuff
  • None that I can think of.
It is super good for a well-structured company. If the company were newer or less structured, it might take some time to get used to using it. There are so many features, and it can be overwhelming to figure out what is beneficial to use.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
This software offers human resources tools that make our work easier and more bearable, so we can focus on another area that needs our presence. It allows us to track, manage data, and employee information, thus providing a complete report to bosses. Employees will be able to enter, make some changes by themselves, from an application that they can have on their mobile. We employees can group them according to their work categories, carry out inventories, information, follow-up of employees and their work, payroll, and signed documents, among other things. It facilitates our communication, maintaining order and efficiency in our company.
  • Manage the personal information of employees.
  • Easy access for employees, and the digital signature is not complicated at all.
  • It's frustrating when the wait for a vacancy disappears and it's a little difficult to see it again later.
I have been working with BambooHR for just over four years, and my experience has been very pleasant. It is very easy to use, better than any other software I have used before. I love the option that allows employees to enter their data, sign, do any changes, and save. Also where the available jobs are reflected to users, and so I would go by naming features that make my experience more enjoyable with BambooHR.
January 07, 2022

BambooHR Rocks

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I love BambooHR. Super easy to use, very user-friendly. I experienced no problems with the site. The best UX and UI design I've seen for an HR portal. I really liked how simple the website looked, it made searching things very easy. I also like the functions that are given to users.
  • Search
  • User Friendly
  • UX Design
  • Access
  • Detailed Information
  • In Depth Access
The easiest HR systems I've used. I love the org chart it provides. It also makes seeing employee information very easy and accessible. One of my favorite features is being able to see everyone that is out of office. I like being able to filter throughout the organization to see who is out of office as well.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
As a member of the human resources department, I utilize BambooHR to verify job history, department, team, salary history, contact info, and other related items. BambooHR helps me gain better insight into an employee's organizational progression which allows me to better plan & organize for future promotions, merit increases, or market adjustments related to employee compensation.
  • Employee Directory
  • Time Off Requests
  • New Hire Shout Outs
  • I really can't think of anything. Functionality and features have all been top-notch in my experience using BambooHR.
Well-suited: Position history Time off requests New hire shout outs Less Appropriate: Healthcare administration 401k External communications with third parties
January 06, 2022

BambooHR Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I personally use Bamboo to track all current and former employees; see their locations, job titles, time at FanDuel, level, salary, and who they report to. I also use bamboo to request time off and handle any personal aspects that relate to my position.
  • Convenience
  • Efficiency
  • User Interaction
  • Layout
I enjoy BambooHR because it is extremely easy to navigate and allows me the ability to find current employees easily. There is not much I would change about BambooHR.
January 06, 2022

Great for HR!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I thought BambooHR was a great application, and it is so easy to use. I thought this site contained a lot of cool features, for example, the welcome section for new hires. This application makes your resources and links simply to find as well! The site itself is appealing and not confusing at all.
  • Mapping out the company's organizational chart
  • Easy to see information in profile
  • Allowing employees to see who is out for the day
  • Making the calendar of those who are out a bit easier to read.
  • Adding an attendance feature for employees.
  • A section that features employees' birthdays.
I think BambooHR is well suited for new hires starting out in the company. I think the site is very easy for new users to navigate and explore more about their company. I cannot imagine where this site is not well-suited for a company as this site allows companies to post their policies and resources there for employees to read as well as search for other employees if needed.
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our plan was to use BambooHR and Trax payroll to have a single solution for our HR and payroll needs. We were okay until we started to implement their time tracking app and realized that they could not manage some basic payroll functions and no fix was anticipated. Many issues identified in the interim and wrote up several things at their request for them to consider addressing, none of which has been changed. For example, most employee name drop-downs are in first name order. Some are in no intelligible order. Basic, basic stuff. Most recently, about half our employees received half of their vacation accruals for no apparent reason. The "Support Hero" advised that it must have been one of the Admins on our side who adjusted the accrual dates (definitely not the case). Had to go through four people before it was taken seriously and then took two weeks to address, and even then required my reviewing and notifying them of further issues. Just one example.
  • Showing accruals (when it isn't messed up) in running total form
  • Landing screen is user friendly and visually appealing
  • Applicant tracking
  • Basic functions of converting time to payroll
  • Clocking in and out punches often do not "take"
  • Default employee sort should be able to be changed to last name
  • Consider not having everyone take their lunch at the same time
  • Too little documentation for implementation - told to watch videos
After a bumpy implementation, pleased with applicant tracking, time-off request process works well, visually appealing Cons - in my opinion, onboarding is not intuitive; in an effort to be progressive, some aspects verge on the unprofessional: "beep boop," misspelling; help function requires logging in again; aforementioned employee lists. For basic employee data warehousing, BambooHR is probably a good choice.
Carlos Andrés Patiño | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Bamboo HR is a seamless system to compile all employees' information in one place. everything from what they like to where they live. The documents required for their long-term experience in the company. We also keep salary information there and people can go back and track their growth and pay raises. We can manage time off in a fast and straightforward way. We provide unpaid time off options, parental leaves, and more.
  • BambooHR supports our Paid Time Off strategy
  • BambooHR supports our pay rate records per employee
  • Bamboo HR allows us to track Bday and anniversaries
  • I think the mobile version can be better
  • I think there are many other features to explore in HR that can make BambooHR a 360 platform
  • I think they can promote more the features available, unused or new.
BambooHR provides a simple and effective platform for company leaders, People Ops, and all team members to track relevant information about their employment, interests, salary rates, time off, parental leaves, birthdays, and anniversaries and see who is out. It is also great at integrating with our calendars and displaying this information elsewhere. It is not as effective when it comes to employee satisfaction tracking.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
BambooHR has been a solid blanket HR solution for us. It provides the basics of managing our prospective hires and active employees, but it also goes far beyond that. It stores our HR documentation records, emergency contact information, personnel data, and work histories. It has a thorough system that allows for easy changes to job roles with an extensive history system. It allows us to manage hierarchies in multiple departments very easily. We also use it for managing time-off requests and time balances. It integrates with our scheduling solution, Deputy, behind the scenes in a seamless way thanks to its API features.
  • It provides an extensive system for setting up time off accruals and managing their balances.
  • It has a powerful system for managing user permissions to allow supervisors access to necessary areas and limit the access of employees.
  • It provides a very useful set of auditing tools and reports, both for tracking changes to employee profiles and who made the changes.
  • It has a clean UI that makes it easy for less tech-savvy users to interact with their HR data.
  • It could use the ability to create default profile settings for new employees to allow them to default to having certain time off and permissions settings.
  • The API could use some more work on the time tracking side of things. It is very limited in that area.
  • The reporting is not as user-friendly as it could be and can feel tedious for less tech-savvy HR users.
Overall BambooHr has excelled in satisfying our needs. It performs well as a one-stop-shop for HR challenges. It has benefitted us as an excellent repository for personnel information both in processing prospective and new hires, as well as existing employees. It provides a fairly simple, but [the] straightforward system for managing and using time off. Some areas do need some work, however. There is no ability to set up a default set of time-off types/accruals for a new hire, which means this has to be done manually for each new employee. This creates a lot of opportunities for human error. It also has a very opaque and unhelpful API when it comes to the management of the time data; Whereas the rest of the API is exceptional. Lastly, the ability to request time off only allows for a flat number of hours in a day; it doesn't allow the employee to request specific times. As a result, we rely on the employee and manager to communicate the time successfully in the notes field. There is a big difference between arriving 1 hour late, leaving 1 hour early, and stepping out for an extended lunch.
Mike Cheney | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We used BambooHR as our HRIS. We managed recruitment and hiring, new employee onboarding, existing employee training and development, and facilitated employee leave policies via BambooHR. BambooHR was our one-stop-shop for everything HR-related. All our team managers used it to keep track of their teams and who needed leave when. Our recruitment team used BambooHR exclusively to facilitate hundreds of new hires across multiple departments.
  • Creating and launching job adverts in a well designed easy to use job portal.
  • Facilitate employee leave policies and approvals.
  • Create easy-to-use onboarding and offboarding templates for new and existing employees.
  • For a non-US-based company, BambooHR can be on the pricey side billing per user per month.
  • We managed to figure out how to set up the various features we wanted within BambooHR and their online help directory was useful but it would've been nice to have more onboarding support from their onboarding team.
Easy to set up and use for medium to large enterprises. You're able to run any and all HR-related administration through BambooHRs one-stop-shop platform. Small enterprises will find BambooHR on the pricey side of things.
Return to navigation